skip to main content

2015 Report Cards
Senate Cmte. Chairs/RkMembs / Bills Cosponsored

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2015 legislative year (Jan 6, 2015-Dec 31, 2015), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 9, 2016.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in 2015.

Senate Cmte. Chairs/RkMembs
most bills
#1 295 Sen. Richard Blumenthal [D-CT]
#2 267 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#3 257 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#4 250 Sen. Jeanne Shaheen [D-NH]
#5 243 Sen. Barbara Boxer [D-CA, 1993-2016]
#6 226 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#7 218 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#8 209 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#9 203 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#10 195 Sen. Roy Blunt [R-MO]
#11 194 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#12 189 Sen. Barbara Mikulski [D-MD, 1987-2016]
#13 180 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA, 2005-2019]
#13 180 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#15 178 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#16 175 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#17 173 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#18 171 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#19 169 Sen. David Vitter [R-LA, 2005-2016]
#20 165 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#21 164 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#22 161 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#23 156 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#24 152 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#25 151 Sen. Bernard “Bernie” Sanders [I-VT]
#26 146 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT, 1977-2018]
#27 141 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#28 138 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#29 137 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#30 136 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS, 1979-2018]
#31 134 Sen. John McCain [R-AZ, 1987-2018]
#32 127 Sen. Ron Johnson [R-WI]
#33 124 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#34 122 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#35 118 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#36 99 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#37 97 Sen. Daniel Coats [R-IN, 2011-2016]
#38 96 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#39 53 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN, 2007-2018]
#40 49 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2015) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.