skip to main content

2015 Report Cards
Serving 10+ Years (Senate) / Bills Cosponsored

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2015 legislative year (Jan 6, 2015-Dec 31, 2015), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 9, 2016.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in 2015.

Serving 10+ Years (Senate)
most bills
#1 301 Sen. Alan “Al” Franken [D-MN, 2009-2017]
#2 268 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#3 267 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#4 258 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#5 257 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#6 256 Sen. Chris Coons [D-DE]
#7 250 Sen. Jeanne Shaheen [D-NH]
#8 243 Sen. Barbara Boxer [D-CA, 1993-2016]
#9 240 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#10 227 Sen. Jeff Merkley [D-OR]
#11 226 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#12 218 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#13 209 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#14 203 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#15 194 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#16 189 Sen. Barbara Mikulski [D-MD, 1987-2016]
#17 184 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#18 180 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA, 2005-2019]
#18 180 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#20 178 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#21 177 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#21 177 Sen. Tom Udall [D-NM]
#23 175 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#24 173 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#25 171 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#26 169 Sen. David Vitter [R-LA, 2005-2016]
#27 165 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#28 164 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#28 164 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#30 161 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#31 159 Sen. James Risch [R-ID]
#32 156 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#33 152 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#34 151 Sen. Bernard “Bernie” Sanders [I-VT]
#34 151 Sen. Mark Warner [D-VA]
#36 150 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#37 146 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT, 1977-2018]
#38 141 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#39 138 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#40 137 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#41 136 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS, 1979-2018]
#42 134 Sen. John McCain [R-AZ, 1987-2018]
#43 124 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#44 122 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#45 118 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#46 112 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#47 102 Sen. Jefferson “Jeff” Sessions [R-AL, 1997-2017]
#48 99 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#49 97 Sen. Daniel Coats [R-IN, 2011-2016]
#50 96 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#51 94 Sen. Harry Reid [D-NV, 1987-2016]
#52 69 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#53 53 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN, 2007-2018]
#54 49 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2015) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.