skip to main content

2016 Report Cards
House Freshmen / Cosponsors

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 114th Congress (Jan 6, 2015-Jan 3, 2017), as of Aug 24, 2017.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in the 114th Congress.

House Freshmen
most cosponsors
#1 681 Rep. Carlos Curbelo [R-FL26, 2015-2018]
#2 673 Sen. Martha McSally [R-AZ]
#3 614 Rep. Donald Beyer [D-VA8]
#4 392 Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA33]
#5 370 Rep. Seth Moulton [D-MA6]
#6 337 Rep. Brian Babin [R-TX36]
#7 319 Rep. Ryan Zinke [R-MT0, 2015-2017]
#8 314 Rep. John Ratcliffe [R-TX4, 2015-2020]
#9 298 Rep. Gary Palmer [R-AL6]
#10 286 Rep. Alma Adams [D-NC12]
#11 274 Rep. Lee Zeldin [R-NY1]
#12 268 Rep. Alex Mooney [R-WV2]
#13 250 Rep. Mike Bishop [R-MI8, 2015-2018]
#14 246 Rep. Jody Hice [R-GA10]
#15 218 Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman [D-NJ12]
#16 201 Rep. Elise Stefanik [R-NY21]
#17 200 Rep. Mark Walker [R-NC6]
#18 195 Rep. Stacey Plaskett [D-VI0]
#19 192 Rep. John Katko [R-NY24]
#20 184 Rep. Tom MacArthur [R-NJ3, 2015-2018]
#21 179 Rep. David “Dave” Brat [R-VA7, 2014-2018]
#22 177 Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA11]
#23 169 Rep. Buddy Carter [R-GA1]
#24 154 Rep. Tom Emmer [R-MN6]
#25 142 Rep. Dan Newhouse [R-WA4]
#26 130 Rep. Ralph Abraham [R-LA5]
#27 127 Rep. David Young [R-IA3, 2015-2018]
#28 121 Rep. Steve Russell [R-OK5, 2015-2018]
#29 120 Rep. David Rouzer [R-NC7]
#30 119 Rep. Brenda Lawrence [D-MI14]
#31 118 Rep. Ruben Gallego [D-AZ7]
#32 117 Rep. Mia Love [R-UT4, 2015-2018]
#33 106 Rep. Mimi Walters [R-CA45, 2015-2018]
#34 103 Rep. Bruce Poliquin [R-ME2, 2015-2018]
#35 100 Rep. Garret Graves [R-LA6]
#36 93 Rep. Warren Davidson [R-OH8]
#37 88 Rep. Evan Jenkins [R-WV3, 2015-2018]
#38 83 Rep. Ken Buck [R-CO4]
#39 81 Rep. Ryan Costello [R-PA6, 2015-2018]
#40 78 Rep. Rick Allen [R-GA12]
#41 76 Rep. Steve Knight [R-CA25, 2015-2018]
#42 74 Rep. Will Hurd [R-TX23]
#43 73 Rep. Mike Bost [R-IL12]
#44 58 Rep. Barry Loudermilk [R-GA11]
#45 57 Rep. Gwen Graham [D-FL2, 2015-2016]
#46 51 Rep. Kathleen Rice [D-NY4]
#47 48 Rep. Daniel Donovan [R-NY11, 2015-2018]
#47 48 Rep. Darin LaHood [R-IL18]
#49 47 Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA31]
#50 44 Rep. Rod Blum [R-IA1, 2015-2018]
#50 44 Rep. Dave Trott [R-MI11, 2015-2018]
#52 38 Rep. Brad Ashford [D-NE2, 2015-2016]
#53 37 Rep. Cresent Hardy [R-NV4, 2015-2016]
#54 35 Rep. French Hill [R-AR2]
#55 33 Rep. Debbie Dingell [D-MI12]
#55 33 Rep. Bruce Westerman [R-AR4]
#57 29 Rep. Glenn Grothman [R-WI6]
#58 26 Rep. Donald Norcross [D-NJ1]
#59 25 Rep. Barbara Comstock [R-VA10, 2015-2018]
#60 22 Rep. John Moolenaar [R-MI4]
#60 22 Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA35]
#62 5 Rep. Aumua Amata [R-AS0]
#63 4 Rep. Brendan Boyle [D-PA2]
#64 3 Rep. Trent Kelly [R-MS1]
#65 0 Rep. James Comer [R-KY1]
#65 0 Rep. Dwight Evans [D-PA3]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 114th Congress) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.