skip to main content

2016 Report Cards: House Freshmen

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 114th Congress (Jan 6, 2015-Jan 3, 2017), as of Aug 24, 2017.

Page Icon


Missed Votes

The percentage of votes each legislator missed in the 114th Congress.

House Freshmen
most absent
#1 9.9% Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA33]
#2 7.6% Rep. Alma Adams [D-NC12]
#3 4.9% Rep. Ken Buck [R-CO4]
#4 4.7% Rep. Kathleen Rice [D-NY4]
#5 4.5% Rep. Mike Bost [R-IL12]
#5 4.5% Rep. Mimi Walters [R-CA45]
#7 4.4% Rep. Brendan Boyle [D-PA13]
#8 4.1% Rep. Donald Beyer [D-VA8]
#9 3.5% Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA31]
#10 3.5% Rep. David “Dave” Brat [R-VA7]
#11 2.9% Rep. Trent Kelly [R-MS1]
#12 2.8% Rep. Debbie Dingell [D-MI12]
#13 2.7% Rep. Ryan Zinke [R-MT0, 2015-2017]
#14 2.6% Rep. Barry Loudermilk [R-GA11]
#14 2.6% Rep. Mark Walker [R-NC6]
#16 2.5% Rep. Daniel Donovan [R-NY11]
#17 2.4% Rep. Carlos Curbelo [R-FL26]
#18 2.2% Rep. Cresent Hardy [R-NV4, 2015-2016]
#19 2.1% Rep. Dwight Evans [D-PA2]
#20 2.1% Rep. Donald Norcross [D-NJ1]
#21 2.0% Rep. Brian Babin [R-TX36]
#22 2.0% Rep. Brenda Lawrence [D-MI14]
#23 1.9% Rep. Mia Love [R-UT4]
#23 1.9% Rep. Steve Russell [R-OK5]
#25 1.8% Rep. Buddy Carter [R-GA1]
#26 1.7% Rep. Alex Mooney [R-WV2]
#27 1.5% Rep. Barbara Comstock [R-VA10]
#27 1.5% Rep. Steve Knight [R-CA25]
#27 1.5% Rep. Tom MacArthur [R-NJ3]
#30 1.4% Rep. John Katko [R-NY24]
#31 1.4% Rep. Ruben Gallego [D-AZ7]
#31 1.4% Rep. Jody Hice [R-GA10]
#31 1.4% Rep. Evan Jenkins [R-WV3, 2015-2018]
#31 1.4% Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA35]
#35 1.3% Rep. Rod Blum [R-IA1]
#35 1.3% Rep. John Moolenaar [R-MI4]
#37 1.2% Rep. Rick Allen [R-GA12]
#37 1.2% Rep. Ryan Costello [R-PA6]
#37 1.2% Rep. Tom Emmer [R-MN6]
#40 1.1% Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman [D-NJ12]
#41 1.1% Rep. Brad Ashford [D-NE2, 2015-2016]
#41 1.1% Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA11]
#43 1.0% Rep. Glenn Grothman [R-WI6]
#44 0.9% Rep. Seth Moulton [D-MA6]
#44 0.9% Rep. Dave Trott [R-MI11]
#46 0.8% Rep. Mike Bishop [R-MI8]
#46 0.8% Rep. Garret Graves [R-LA6]
#48 0.7% Rep. French Hill [R-AR2]
#48 0.7% Rep. Dan Newhouse [R-WA4]
#50 0.6% Rep. John Ratcliffe [R-TX4]
#51 0.6% Rep. Warren Davidson [R-OH8]
#52 0.5% Rep. Bruce Poliquin [R-ME2]
#53 0.4% Rep. Gary Palmer [R-AL6]
#53 0.4% Rep. Bruce Westerman [R-AR4]
#53 0.4% Rep. Lee Zeldin [R-NY1]
#56 0.2% Rep. Will Hurd [R-TX23]
#57 0.2% Rep. Ralph Abraham [R-LA5]
#57 0.2% Rep. Gwen Graham [D-FL2, 2015-2016]
#57 0.2% Rep. David Rouzer [R-NC7]
#57 0.2% Rep. Elise Stefanik [R-NY21]
#61 0.1% Rep. Darin LaHood [R-IL18]
#62 0.0% Rep. James Comer [R-KY1]
#62 0.0% Rep. Martha McSally [R-AZ2]
#62 0.0% Rep. David Young [R-IA3]
Export to CSV...

The Speaker of the House is not included in this statistic because according to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings, and the delegates from the five island territories and the District of Columbia are also not included because they were not elligible to vote in any roll call votes.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 114th Congress) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.