skip to main content

2016 Report Cards: House Sophomores

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 114th Congress (Jan 6, 2015-Jan 3, 2017), as of Aug 24, 2017.

Page Icon


Laws Enacted

The number of bills each legislator introduced that became law in the 114th Congress, including via incorporation into other bills. Keep in mind that it takes a law to repeal a law. Very few bills ever become law.

House Sophomores
most laws
#1 5 Rep. Doug Collins [R-GA9]
#1 5 Rep. Markwayne Mullin [R-OK2]
#1 5 Rep. Susan Brooks [R-IN5]
#10 1 Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA47]
#10 1 Rep. Beto O’Rourke [D-TX16]
#10 1 Rep. Bob Dold [R-IL10, 2015-2016]
#10 1 Rep. Chris Collins [R-NY27]
#10 1 Rep. Curtis “Curt” Clawson [R-FL19, 2014-2016]
#10 1 Rep. David Joyce [R-OH14]
#10 1 Rep. Denny Heck [D-WA10]
#10 1 Rep. Donald Payne [D-NJ10]
#10 1 Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA1]
#10 1 Rep. Frank Guinta [R-NH1, 2015-2016]
#10 1 Rep. George Holding [R-NC2]
#10 1 Rep. Grace Meng [D-NY6]
#10 1 Rep. Hakeem Jeffries [D-NY8]
#10 1 Rep. Jackie Walorski [R-IN2]
#10 1 Rep. Joseph Kennedy [D-MA4]
#10 1 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#10 1 Rep. Katherine Clark [D-MA5]
#10 1 Rep. Kevin Cramer [R-ND0]
#10 1 Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA41]
#10 1 Rep. Matthew Cartwright [D-PA17]
#10 1 Rep. Michelle Lujan Grisham [D-NM1]
#10 1 Rep. Randy Weber [R-TX14]
#10 1 Rep. Rodney Davis [R-IL13]
#10 1 Rep. Tulsi Gabbard [D-HI2]
#34 0 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#34 0 Rep. Bradley Byrne [R-AL1]
#34 0 Rep. Cheri Bustos [D-IL17]
#34 0 Rep. Chris Stewart [R-UT2]
#34 0 Rep. David Jolly [R-FL13, 2014-2016]
#34 0 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21]
#34 0 Rep. Derek Kilmer [D-WA6]
#34 0 Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA15]
#34 0 Rep. Filemon Vela [D-TX34]
#34 0 Rep. Garland “Andy” Barr [R-KY6]
#34 0 Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA2]
#34 0 Rep. Jason Smith [R-MO8]
#34 0 Rep. Jim Bridenstine [R-OK1, 2013-2018]
#34 0 Rep. Joaquin Castro [D-TX20]
#34 0 Rep. John Delaney [D-MD6]
#34 0 Rep. Joyce Beatty [D-OH3]
#34 0 Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA51]
#34 0 Rep. Keith Rothfus [R-PA12]
#34 0 Rep. Kyrsten Sinema [D-AZ9]
#34 0 Rep. Lois Frankel [D-FL21]
#34 0 Rep. Luke Messer [R-IN6]
#34 0 Rep. Marc Veasey [D-TX33]
#34 0 Rep. Mark Pocan [D-WI2]
#34 0 Rep. Patrick Murphy [D-FL18, 2013-2016]
#34 0 Rep. Paul Cook [R-CA8]
#34 0 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#34 0 Rep. Richard Hudson [R-NC8]
#34 0 Rep. Robert Pittenger [R-NC9]
#34 0 Rep. Robin Kelly [D-IL2]
#34 0 Rep. Roger Williams [R-TX25]
#34 0 Rep. Ron DeSantis [R-FL6, 2013-2018]
#34 0 Rep. Scott Perry [R-PA4]
#34 0 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#34 0 Rep. Sean Maloney [D-NY18]
#34 0 Rep. Suzan DelBene [D-WA1]
#34 0 Rep. Ted Yoho [R-FL3]
#34 0 Rep. Thomas Massie [R-KY4]
#34 0 Rep. Tom Rice [R-SC7]
#34 0 Rep. Tony Cárdenas [D-CA29]
#34 0 Sen. Tammy Duckworth [D-IL]
#4 3 Rep. Ann Kuster [D-NH2]
#4 3 Rep. Ann Wagner [R-MO2]
#4 3 Rep. Brad Wenstrup [R-OH2]
#4 3 Rep. Elizabeth Esty [D-CT5]
#8 2 Rep. Daniel Kildee [D-MI5]
#8 2 Rep. Mark Meadows [R-NC11]
Export to CSV...

The legislator must be the primary sponsor of the bill or joint resolution that was enacted or the primary sponsor of a bill or joint resolution for which at least about one third of its text was incorporated into another bill or joint resolution that was enacted as law, as determined by an automated analysis. While a legislator may lay claim to authoring other bills that became law, these cases are difficult for us to track quantitatively. We also exclude bills where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 114th Congress) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.