skip to main content

2016 Report Cards
House Sophomores / Bills Out of Committee

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 114th Congress (Jan 6, 2015-Jan 3, 2017), as of Aug 24, 2017.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Out of Committee

The number of bills that each legislator introduced in the 114th Congress that got past committee and to the floor for consideration. Most bills and resolutions languish in committee without any action.

House Sophomores
most often
#1 24 Rep. Doug Collins [R-GA9]
#2 17 Rep. Bradley Byrne [R-AL1]
#3 8 Rep. Mark Meadows [R-NC11, 2013-2020]
#4 7 Rep. Ann Wagner [R-MO2]
#5 4 Rep. Garland “Andy” Barr [R-KY6]
#5 4 Rep. Bob Dold [R-IL10, 2015-2016]
#5 4 Rep. Donald Payne [D-NJ10]
#5 4 Rep. Jason Smith [R-MO8]
#9 3 Rep. Susan Brooks [R-IN5]
#9 3 Rep. Paul Cook [R-CA8]
#9 3 Rep. Markwayne Mullin [R-OK2]
#9 3 Sen. Kyrsten Sinema [D-AZ]
#9 3 Rep. Chris Stewart [R-UT2]
#9 3 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21, 2013-2018]
#9 3 Rep. Brad Wenstrup [R-OH2]
#9 3 Rep. Ted Yoho [R-FL3]
#17 2 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#17 2 Rep. Joaquin Castro [D-TX20]
#17 2 Rep. Katherine Clark [D-MA5]
#17 2 Rep. Chris Collins [R-NY27, 2013-2019]
#17 2 Rep. Rodney Davis [R-IL13]
#17 2 Rep. Frank Guinta [R-NH1, 2015-2016]
#17 2 Rep. Denny Heck [D-WA10]
#17 2 Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA1]
#17 2 Rep. Grace Meng [D-NY6]
#17 2 Rep. Luke Messer [R-IN6, 2013-2018]
#17 2 Rep. Beto O’Rourke [D-TX16, 2013-2018]
#17 2 Rep. Scott Perry [R-PA10]
#17 2 Rep. Robert Pittenger [R-NC9, 2013-2018]
#17 2 Rep. Keith Rothfus [R-PA12, 2013-2018]
#17 2 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#17 2 Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA41]
#33 1 Rep. Jim Bridenstine [R-OK1, 2013-2018]
#33 1 Rep. Matthew Cartwright [D-PA8]
#33 1 Rep. Curtis “Curt” Clawson [R-FL19, 2014-2016]
#33 1 Sen. Kevin Cramer [R-ND]
#33 1 Rep. Ron DeSantis [R-FL6, 2013-2018]
#33 1 Sen. Tammy Duckworth [D-IL]
#33 1 Rep. George Holding [R-NC2]
#33 1 Rep. Richard Hudson [R-NC8]
#33 1 Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA2]
#33 1 Rep. David Joyce [R-OH14]
#33 1 Rep. Robin Kelly [D-IL2]
#33 1 Rep. Joseph Kennedy [D-MA4]
#33 1 Rep. Daniel Kildee [D-MI5]
#33 1 Rep. Ann Kuster [D-NH2]
#33 1 Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA47]
#33 1 Rep. Michelle Lujan Grisham [D-NM1, 2013-2018]
#33 1 Rep. Sean Maloney [D-NY18]
#33 1 Rep. Thomas Massie [R-KY4]
#33 1 Rep. Tom Rice [R-SC7]
#33 1 Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA51]
#33 1 Rep. Filemon Vela [D-TX34]
#33 1 Rep. Jackie Walorski [R-IN2]
#33 1 Rep. Randy Weber [R-TX14]
#33 1 Rep. Roger Williams [R-TX25]
#57 0 Rep. Joyce Beatty [D-OH3]
#57 0 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#57 0 Rep. Cheri Bustos [D-IL17]
#57 0 Rep. Tony Cárdenas [D-CA29]
#57 0 Rep. Suzan DelBene [D-WA1]
#57 0 Rep. John Delaney [D-MD6, 2013-2018]
#57 0 Rep. Elizabeth Esty [D-CT5, 2013-2018]
#57 0 Rep. Lois Frankel [D-FL21]
#57 0 Rep. Tulsi Gabbard [D-HI2]
#57 0 Rep. Hakeem Jeffries [D-NY8]
#57 0 Rep. David Jolly [R-FL13, 2014-2016]
#57 0 Rep. Derek Kilmer [D-WA6]
#57 0 Rep. Patrick Murphy [D-FL18, 2013-2016]
#57 0 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#57 0 Rep. Mark Pocan [D-WI2]
#57 0 Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA15]
#57 0 Rep. Marc Veasey [D-TX33]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 114th Congress) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.