skip to main content

2016 Report Cards
House Sophomores / Leadership Score

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 114th Congress (Jan 6, 2015-Jan 3, 2017), as of Aug 24, 2017.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Leadership Score

Our unique leadership analysis looks at who is cosponsoring whose bills. A higher score shows a greater ability to get cosponsors on bills.

House Sophomores
top leader
#1 0.86 Rep. Ted Yoho [R-FL3]
#2 0.85 Rep. Matthew Cartwright [D-PA8]
#3 0.84 Rep. Rodney Davis [R-IL13]
#4 0.83 Rep. Frank Guinta [R-NH1, 2015-2016]
#5 0.82 Rep. Doug Collins [R-GA9]
#6 0.81 Rep. Richard Hudson [R-NC8]
#7 0.80 Rep. Susan Brooks [R-IN5]
#8 0.74 Rep. Katherine Clark [D-MA5]
#9 0.74 Rep. Thomas Massie [R-KY4]
#10 0.73 Rep. Garland “Andy” Barr [R-KY6]
#11 0.71 Rep. Tulsi Gabbard [D-HI2]
#12 0.70 Rep. Bob Dold [R-IL10, 2015-2016]
#13 0.69 Rep. Daniel Kildee [D-MI5]
#14 0.66 Rep. Jackie Walorski [R-IN2]
#15 0.65 Rep. Ron DeSantis [R-FL6, 2013-2018]
#16 0.64 Rep. Tony Cárdenas [D-CA29]
#17 0.63 Rep. George Holding [R-NC2]
#18 0.63 Rep. David Jolly [R-FL13, 2014-2016]
#19 0.61 Rep. Chris Stewart [R-UT2]
#20 0.61 Rep. Robin Kelly [D-IL2]
#21 0.60 Rep. Lois Frankel [D-FL21]
#22 0.60 Rep. Luke Messer [R-IN6, 2013-2018]
#23 0.60 Rep. Bradley Byrne [R-AL1]
#24 0.60 Rep. Suzan DelBene [D-WA1]
#25 0.60 Rep. Grace Meng [D-NY6]
#26 0.59 Rep. Elizabeth Esty [D-CT5, 2013-2018]
#27 0.59 Rep. Joyce Beatty [D-OH3]
#28 0.56 Rep. Roger Williams [R-TX25]
#29 0.56 Sen. Kevin Cramer [R-ND]
#30 0.55 Sen. Tammy Duckworth [D-IL]
#31 0.55 Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA47]
#32 0.54 Rep. John Delaney [D-MD6, 2013-2018]
#33 0.54 Rep. Chris Collins [R-NY27, 2013-2019]
#34 0.53 Rep. Mark Pocan [D-WI2]
#35 0.53 Rep. Derek Kilmer [D-WA6]
#36 0.52 Rep. Patrick Murphy [D-FL18, 2013-2016]
#37 0.51 Rep. Joseph Kennedy [D-MA4]
#38 0.51 Rep. Cheri Bustos [D-IL17]
#39 0.51 Rep. Randy Weber [R-TX14]
#40 0.50 Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA2]
#41 0.47 Rep. Scott Perry [R-PA10]
#42 0.46 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#43 0.45 Rep. Ann Wagner [R-MO2]
#44 0.44 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21, 2013-2018]
#45 0.44 Rep. Markwayne Mullin [R-OK2]
#46 0.44 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#47 0.43 Rep. Donald Payne [D-NJ10]
#48 0.43 Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA41]
#49 0.41 Rep. Sean Maloney [D-NY18]
#50 0.39 Rep. Joaquin Castro [D-TX20]
#51 0.39 Rep. Ann Kuster [D-NH2]
#52 0.38 Rep. Keith Rothfus [R-PA12, 2013-2018]
#53 0.37 Rep. Mark Meadows [R-NC11]
#54 0.35 Rep. Marc Veasey [D-TX33]
#55 0.33 Rep. Beto O’Rourke [D-TX16, 2013-2018]
#56 0.31 Rep. Jason Smith [R-MO8]
#57 0.31 Rep. Denny Heck [D-WA10]
#58 0.31 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#59 0.31 Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA1]
#60 0.30 Rep. Tom Rice [R-SC7]
#61 0.30 Sen. Kyrsten Sinema [D-AZ]
#62 0.28 Rep. David Joyce [R-OH14]
#63 0.27 Rep. Paul Cook [R-CA8]
#64 0.27 Rep. Robert Pittenger [R-NC9, 2013-2018]
#65 0.27 Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA51]
#66 0.26 Rep. Hakeem Jeffries [D-NY8]
#67 0.25 Rep. Curtis “Curt” Clawson [R-FL19, 2014-2016]
#68 0.23 Rep. Brad Wenstrup [R-OH2]
#69 0.22 Rep. Michelle Lujan Grisham [D-NM1, 2013-2018]
#70 0.22 Rep. Jim Bridenstine [R-OK1, 2013-2018]
#71 0.21 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#72 0.18 Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA15]
#73 0.00 Rep. Filemon Vela [D-TX34]
Export to CSV...

For more, see our methodology. A leadership score is not computed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable statistics. Note that because on this page only legislative activity in the 114th Congress is considered, the leadership scores here may differ from those elsewhere on GovTrack.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 114th Congress) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.