skip to main content

2016 Report Cards
California Delegation / Cosponsors

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 114th Congress (Jan 6, 2015-Jan 3, 2017), as of Aug 24, 2017.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in the 114th Congress.

California Delegation
most cosponsors
#1 956 Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA14]
#2 950 Rep. Michael “Mike” Honda [D-CA17, 2013-2016]
#3 856 Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA13]
#4 834 Rep. Mike Thompson [D-CA5]
#5 783 Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA43]
#6 725 Rep. Tony Cárdenas [D-CA29]
#7 703 Rep. Edward “Ed” Royce [R-CA39, 2013-2018]
#8 580 Rep. Susan Davis [D-CA53]
#9 516 Rep. Lois Capps [D-CA24, 2013-2016]
#10 511 Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA47]
#11 494 Rep. Linda Sánchez [D-CA38]
#12 452 Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA2]
#13 451 Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA37]
#14 419 Rep. Judy Chu [D-CA27]
#15 392 Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA33]
#15 392 Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA40]
#17 390 Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D-CA19]
#18 350 Rep. Devin Nunes [R-CA22]
#19 345 Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA28]
#20 300 Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA41]
#21 289 Rep. Duncan Hunter [R-CA50, 2013-2020]
#22 282 Rep. Darrell Issa [R-CA49, 2003-2018]
#23 276 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#24 218 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#25 188 Rep. Anna Eshoo [D-CA18]
#26 182 Rep. Jeff Denham [R-CA10, 2013-2018]
#27 178 Rep. Tom McClintock [R-CA4]
#28 177 Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA11]
#29 170 Rep. Xavier Becerra [D-CA34, 2013-2017]
#30 167 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21, 2013-2018]
#31 138 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#32 131 Rep. Dana Rohrabacher [R-CA48, 2013-2018]
#33 130 Rep. Loretta Sanchez [D-CA46, 2013-2016]
#34 128 Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA32]
#35 106 Rep. Mimi Walters [R-CA45, 2015-2018]
#36 105 Rep. Jerry McNerney [D-CA9]
#37 102 Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA1]
#38 98 Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA51]
#39 95 Rep. Ken Calvert [R-CA42]
#39 95 Rep. Brad Sherman [D-CA30]
#41 89 Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA3]
#42 82 Rep. Paul Cook [R-CA8]
#43 76 Rep. Steve Knight [R-CA25, 2015-2018]
#44 75 Rep. Doris Matsui [D-CA6]
#44 75 Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA15]
#46 52 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#47 50 Rep. Kevin McCarthy [R-CA23]
#48 48 Rep. Sam Farr [D-CA20, 2013-2016]
#49 47 Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA31]
#50 22 Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA35]
#51 19 Rep. Jim Costa [D-CA16]
#52 6 Rep. Nancy Pelosi [D-CA12]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 114th Congress) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.