skip to main content

2016 Report Cards: California Delegation

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 114th Congress (Jan 6, 2015-Jan 3, 2017), as of Aug 24, 2017.

Page Icon


Government Transparency

GovTrack looked at whether legislators supported any of the government transparency bills that we identified in the 114th Congress. We gave a score to each legislator based on one point for cosponsoring and three points for sponsoring any of these bills.

California Delegation
most supportive
#1 10 Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA2]
#2 9 Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D-CA19]
#3 8 Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA11]
#4 7 Rep. Michael “Mike” Honda [D-CA17, 2013-2016]
#4 7 Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA15]
#4 7 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#4 7 Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA51]
#4 7 Rep. Anna Eshoo [D-CA18]
#9 6 Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA33]
#9 6 Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA47]
#11 5 Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA13]
#11 5 Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA32]
#11 5 Rep. Jim Costa [D-CA16]
#11 5 Rep. Darrell Issa [R-CA49]
#11 5 Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA41]
#11 5 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#17 4 Rep. Mike Thompson [D-CA5]
#17 4 Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA28]
#17 4 Rep. Doris Matsui [D-CA6]
#20 3 Rep. Sam Farr [D-CA20, 2013-2016]
#20 3 Rep. Brad Sherman [D-CA30]
#20 3 Rep. Lois Capps [D-CA24, 2013-2016]
#20 3 Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA14]
#20 3 Rep. Susan Davis [D-CA53]
#20 3 Rep. Nancy Pelosi [D-CA12]
#20 3 Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA31]
#20 3 Rep. Tony Cárdenas [D-CA29]
#20 3 Rep. Judy Chu [D-CA27]
#29 2 Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA3]
#29 2 Rep. Xavier Becerra [D-CA34, 2013-2017]
#29 2 Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA37]
#29 2 Rep. Jerry McNerney [D-CA9]
#29 2 Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA40]
#34 1 Rep. Ken Calvert [R-CA42]
#34 1 Rep. Jeff Denham [R-CA10]
#34 1 Rep. Linda Sánchez [D-CA38]
#34 1 Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA35]
#34 1 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21]
#34 1 Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA1]
#34 1 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#34 1 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#42 0 Rep. Duncan Hunter [R-CA50]
#42 0 Rep. Mimi Walters [R-CA45]
#42 0 Rep. Edward “Ed” Royce [R-CA39]
#42 0 Rep. Kevin McCarthy [R-CA23]
#42 0 Rep. Steve Knight [R-CA25]
#42 0 Rep. Devin Nunes [R-CA22]
#42 0 Rep. Loretta Sanchez [D-CA46, 2013-2016]
#42 0 Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA43]
#42 0 Rep. Dana Rohrabacher [R-CA48]
#42 0 Rep. Paul Cook [R-CA8]
#42 0 Rep. Tom McClintock [R-CA4]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 114th Congress) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.