skip to main content

2016 Report Cards: Texas Delegation

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 114th Congress (Jan 6, 2015-Jan 3, 2017), as of Aug 24, 2017.

Page Icon


Bills Out of Committee

The number of bills that each legislator introduced in the 114th Congress that got a committee vote sending it to the floor for further consideration. Most bills and resolutions languish in committee without any action.

Texas Delegation
most bills
#1 22 Rep. Michael Burgess [R-TX26]
#2 18 Rep. Pete Sessions [R-TX32]
#3 10 Rep. Kevin Brady [R-TX8]
#4 9 Rep. Ted Poe [R-TX2]
#4 9 Rep. Lamar Smith [R-TX21]
#6 8 Rep. John Ratcliffe [R-TX4]
#7 7 Rep. Michael McCaul [R-TX10]
#7 7 Rep. Will Hurd [R-TX23]
#9 4 Rep. Michael Conaway [R-TX11]
#10 3 Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee [D-TX18]
#10 3 Rep. Mac Thornberry [R-TX13]
#10 3 Rep. Pete Olson [R-TX22]
#10 3 Rep. John Carter [R-TX31]
#10 3 Rep. Sam Johnson [R-TX3]
#15 2 Rep. Blake Farenthold [R-TX27]
#15 2 Rep. Randy Neugebauer [R-TX19, 2003-2016]
#15 2 Rep. Kenny Marchant [R-TX24]
#15 2 Rep. Beto O’Rourke [D-TX16]
#15 2 Rep. Joaquin Castro [D-TX20]
#15 2 Rep. John Culberson [R-TX7]
#15 2 Rep. Kay Granger [R-TX12]
#15 2 Rep. Henry Cuellar [D-TX28]
#23 1 Rep. Louie Gohmert [R-TX1]
#23 1 Rep. Jeb Hensarling [R-TX5]
#23 1 Rep. Brian Babin [R-TX36]
#23 1 Rep. Joe Barton [R-TX6]
#23 1 Rep. Roger Williams [R-TX25]
#23 1 Rep. Randy Weber [R-TX14]
#23 1 Rep. Filemon Vela [D-TX34]
#23 1 Rep. Lloyd Doggett [D-TX35]
#31 0 Rep. Al Green [D-TX9]
#31 0 Rep. Rubén Hinojosa [D-TX15, 1997-2016]
#31 0 Rep. Bill Flores [R-TX17]
#31 0 Rep. Gene Green [D-TX29]
#31 0 Rep. Marc Veasey [D-TX33]
#31 0 Rep. Eddie Johnson [D-TX30]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 114th Congress) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.