skip to main content

2016 Report Cards
Texas Delegation / Cosponsors

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 114th Congress (Jan 6, 2015-Jan 3, 2017), as of Aug 24, 2017.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in the 114th Congress.

Texas Delegation
most cosponsors
#1 819 Rep. Sam Johnson [R-TX3, 1991-2018]
#2 736 Rep. Kevin Brady [R-TX8]
#3 730 Rep. Michael McCaul [R-TX10]
#4 710 Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee [D-TX18]
#5 701 Rep. Ted Poe [R-TX2, 2005-2018]
#6 652 Rep. Michael Conaway [R-TX11]
#7 562 Rep. Pete Olson [R-TX22]
#8 517 Rep. Al Green [D-TX9]
#9 511 Rep. Lloyd Doggett [D-TX35]
#10 466 Rep. Lamar Smith [R-TX21, 1987-2018]
#11 440 Rep. Michael Burgess [R-TX26]
#12 401 Rep. Joe Barton [R-TX6, 1985-2018]
#13 337 Rep. Brian Babin [R-TX36]
#14 322 Rep. Pete Sessions [R-TX32, 2003-2018]
#15 314 Rep. John Ratcliffe [R-TX4, 2015-2020]
#16 295 Rep. Eddie Johnson [D-TX30]
#17 224 Rep. Marc Veasey [D-TX33]
#18 207 Rep. John Carter [R-TX31]
#19 206 Rep. Roger Williams [R-TX25]
#20 203 Rep. Joaquin Castro [D-TX20]
#20 203 Rep. Rubén Hinojosa [D-TX15, 1997-2016]
#22 197 Rep. Gene Green [D-TX29, 1993-2018]
#23 194 Rep. Randy Weber [R-TX14]
#24 180 Rep. Bill Flores [R-TX17]
#25 172 Rep. Randy Neugebauer [R-TX19, 2003-2016]
#26 159 Rep. Kenny Marchant [R-TX24]
#27 138 Rep. Beto O’Rourke [D-TX16, 2013-2018]
#28 112 Rep. Blake Farenthold [R-TX27, 2011-2018]
#29 94 Rep. Mac Thornberry [R-TX13]
#30 86 Rep. Louie Gohmert [R-TX1]
#31 80 Rep. Henry Cuellar [D-TX28]
#32 74 Rep. Will Hurd [R-TX23]
#33 72 Rep. John Culberson [R-TX7, 2001-2018]
#34 5 Rep. Jeb Hensarling [R-TX5, 2003-2018]
#35 2 Rep. Kay Granger [R-TX12]
#36 1 Rep. Filemon Vela [D-TX34]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 114th Congress) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.