skip to main content

2016 Report Cards
Senate Democrats / Cosponsors

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 114th Congress (Jan 6, 2015-Jan 3, 2017), as of Aug 24, 2017.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in the 114th Congress.

Senate Democrats
most cosponsors
#1 711 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#2 619 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#3 587 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#4 560 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#5 558 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#6 552 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#7 541 Sen. Richard Blumenthal [D-CT]
#8 465 Sen. Jeanne Shaheen [D-NH]
#9 435 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#10 429 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#11 386 Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand [D-NY]
#12 367 Sen. Mazie Hirono [D-HI]
#13 316 Sen. Heidi Heitkamp [D-ND, 2013-2018]
#14 299 Sen. Tammy Baldwin [D-WI]
#15 288 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#16 269 Sen. Cory Booker [D-NJ]
#17 265 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#18 257 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#18 257 Sen. Tom Udall [D-NM]
#20 256 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#21 250 Sen. Edward “Ed” Markey [D-MA]
#22 245 Sen. Barbara Boxer [D-CA, 1993-2016]
#22 245 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#24 237 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#25 229 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#26 218 Sen. Alan “Al” Franken [D-MN, 2009-2017]
#26 218 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#28 217 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#29 211 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#30 189 Sen. Jeff Merkley [D-OR]
#31 186 Sen. Barbara Mikulski [D-MD, 1987-2016]
#31 186 Sen. Brian Schatz [D-HI]
#33 185 Sen. Elizabeth Warren [D-MA]
#34 183 Sen. Chris Coons [D-DE]
#35 146 Sen. Harry Reid [D-NV, 1987-2016]
#36 141 Sen. Mark Warner [D-VA]
#37 108 Sen. Christopher Murphy [D-CT]
#38 101 Sen. Michael Bennet [D-CO]
#39 92 Sen. Joe Manchin [D-WV]
#40 86 Sen. Gary Peters [D-MI]
#41 80 Sen. Timothy “Tim” Kaine [D-VA]
#42 79 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#43 75 Sen. Martin Heinrich [D-NM]
#44 73 Sen. Joe Donnelly [D-IN, 2013-2018]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 114th Congress) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.