skip to main content

2016 Report Cards: Senate Republicans

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 114th Congress (Jan 6, 2015-Jan 3, 2017), as of Aug 24, 2017.

Page Icon


Laws Enacted

The number of bills each legislator introduced that became law in the 114th Congress, including via incorporation into other bills. Keep in mind that it takes a law to repeal a law. Very few bills ever become law.

Senate Republicans
most laws
#1 15 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT]
#2 12 Sen. Ron Johnson [R-WI]
#3 11 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#4 9 Sen. Robert “Rob” Portman [R-OH]
#5 8 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#6 7 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN]
#6 7 Sen. Mark Kirk [R-IL, 2010-2016]
#8 6 Sen. Marco Rubio [R-FL]
#8 6 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA]
#8 6 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#8 6 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#12 5 Sen. Patrick “Pat” Toomey [R-PA]
#12 5 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#12 5 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS, 1979-2018]
#12 5 Sen. Deb Fischer [R-NE]
#12 5 Sen. Roy Blunt [R-MO]
#17 4 Sen. Cory Gardner [R-CO]
#17 4 Sen. Kelly Ayotte [R-NH, 2011-2016]
#17 4 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#17 4 Sen. John Boozman [R-AR]
#17 4 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#17 4 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#23 3 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#23 3 Sen. David Vitter [R-LA, 2005-2016]
#23 3 Sen. John Hoeven [R-ND]
#23 3 Sen. Jerry Moran [R-KS]
#23 3 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#28 2 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#28 2 Sen. James Lankford [R-OK]
#28 2 Sen. John McCain [R-AZ]
#28 2 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#28 2 Sen. Dan Sullivan [R-AK]
#28 2 Sen. Bill Cassidy [R-LA]
#28 2 Sen. Jeff Flake [R-AZ]
#35 1 Sen. Jefferson “Jeff” Sessions [R-AL, 1997-2017]
#35 1 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#35 1 Sen. Ted Cruz [R-TX]
#35 1 Sen. Mike Lee [R-UT]
#35 1 Sen. Joni Ernst [R-IA]
#35 1 Sen. David Perdue [R-GA]
#35 1 Sen. Thom Tillis [R-NC]
#35 1 Sen. Tom Cotton [R-AR]
#35 1 Sen. Dean Heller [R-NV]
#35 1 Sen. James Risch [R-ID]
#35 1 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#35 1 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#47 0 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
#47 0 Sen. Benjamin Sasse [R-NE]
#47 0 Sen. Rand Paul [R-KY]
#47 0 Sen. Shelley Capito [R-WV]
#47 0 Sen. Mike Rounds [R-SD]
#47 0 Sen. Steve Daines [R-MT]
#47 0 Sen. Tim Scott [R-SC]
#47 0 Sen. Daniel Coats [R-IN, 2011-2016]
Export to CSV...

The legislator must be the primary sponsor of the bill or joint resolution that was enacted or the primary sponsor of a bill or joint resolution for which at least about one third of its text was incorporated into another bill or joint resolution that was enacted as law, as determined by an automated analysis. While a legislator may lay claim to authoring other bills that became law, these cases are difficult for us to track quantitatively. We also exclude bills where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 114th Congress) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.