skip to main content

2016 Report Cards: Senate Republicans

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 114th Congress (Jan 6, 2015-Jan 3, 2017), as of Aug 24, 2017.

Page Icon


Powerful Cosponsors

The number of bills that each legislator introduced in the 114th Congress that had a cosponsor who was a chair or ranking member of a committee that the bill was referred to. Getting support from committee leaders on relevant committees is a crucial step in moving legislation forward.

Senate Republicans
most bills
#1 19 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#2 17 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT]
#3 15 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#4 13 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#4 13 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN]
#6 11 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#7 10 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#7 10 Sen. Mike Lee [R-UT]
#9 9 Sen. Ron Johnson [R-WI]
#9 9 Sen. Marco Rubio [R-FL]
#9 9 Sen. Robert “Rob” Portman [R-OH]
#9 9 Sen. Jeff Flake [R-AZ]
#13 8 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA]
#13 8 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#13 8 Sen. Deb Fischer [R-NE]
#16 7 Sen. David Vitter [R-LA, 2005-2016]
#16 7 Sen. Roy Blunt [R-MO]
#18 6 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#18 6 Sen. Ted Cruz [R-TX]
#18 6 Sen. Jerry Moran [R-KS]
#21 5 Sen. Patrick “Pat” Toomey [R-PA]
#21 5 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#21 5 Sen. Kelly Ayotte [R-NH, 2011-2016]
#21 5 Sen. Cory Gardner [R-CO]
#21 5 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#21 5 Sen. Tim Scott [R-SC]
#21 5 Sen. Mark Kirk [R-IL, 2010-2016]
#28 4 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#28 4 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#28 4 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#28 4 Sen. James Lankford [R-OK]
#28 4 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#33 3 Sen. John Boozman [R-AR]
#33 3 Sen. Shelley Capito [R-WV]
#33 3 Sen. Rand Paul [R-KY]
#33 3 Sen. Dan Sullivan [R-AK]
#37 2 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#37 2 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#37 2 Sen. Benjamin Sasse [R-NE]
#37 2 Sen. John McCain [R-AZ]
#37 2 Sen. John Hoeven [R-ND]
#37 2 Sen. Joni Ernst [R-IA]
#37 2 Sen. Bill Cassidy [R-LA]
#37 2 Sen. Dean Heller [R-NV]
#37 2 Sen. James Risch [R-ID]
#46 1 Sen. Daniel Coats [R-IN, 2011-2016]
#46 1 Sen. Jefferson “Jeff” Sessions [R-AL, 1997-2017]
#46 1 Sen. Steve Daines [R-MT]
#46 1 Sen. Tom Cotton [R-AR]
#50 0 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
#50 0 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS]
#50 0 Sen. David Perdue [R-GA]
#50 0 Sen. Mike Rounds [R-SD]
#50 0 Sen. Thom Tillis [R-NC]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 114th Congress) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.