skip to main content

2016 Report Cards
Senate Republicans / Cosponsors

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 114th Congress (Jan 6, 2015-Jan 3, 2017), as of Aug 24, 2017.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in the 114th Congress.

Senate Republicans
most cosponsors
#1 989 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#2 760 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#3 704 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT, 1977-2018]
#4 542 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#5 470 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#6 458 Sen. David Vitter [R-LA, 2005-2016]
#7 450 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#8 446 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#9 439 Sen. Roy Blunt [R-MO]
#10 408 Sen. Mark Kirk [R-IL, 2010-2016]
#11 395 Sen. Robert “Rob” Portman [R-OH]
#12 386 Sen. Kelly Ayotte [R-NH, 2011-2016]
#13 363 Sen. Marco Rubio [R-FL]
#14 334 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#14 334 Sen. Mike Lee [R-UT]
#16 330 Sen. Jerry Moran [R-KS]
#17 310 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA, 2005-2019]
#18 304 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN, 2007-2018]
#19 301 Sen. Tim Scott [R-SC]
#20 288 Sen. Jeff Flake [R-AZ, 2013-2018]
#21 245 Sen. John Boozman [R-AR]
#22 242 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#23 239 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#24 228 Sen. Dean Heller [R-NV, 2011-2018]
#25 224 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#26 219 Sen. Patrick “Pat” Toomey [R-PA]
#27 217 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#28 216 Sen. Ron Johnson [R-WI]
#29 212 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#30 211 Sen. Rand Paul [R-KY]
#31 210 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#32 205 Sen. Ted Cruz [R-TX]
#33 190 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#34 175 Sen. Deb Fischer [R-NE]
#35 163 Sen. Bill Cassidy [R-LA]
#36 160 Sen. Joni Ernst [R-IA]
#37 153 Sen. John McCain [R-AZ, 1987-2018]
#38 150 Sen. John Hoeven [R-ND]
#39 141 Sen. Cory Gardner [R-CO]
#40 139 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#41 138 Sen. Shelley Capito [R-WV]
#42 132 Sen. Jefferson “Jeff” Sessions [R-AL, 1997-2017]
#43 108 Sen. Steve Daines [R-MT]
#44 107 Sen. Tom Cotton [R-AR]
#45 86 Sen. James Lankford [R-OK]
#46 77 Sen. Benjamin Sasse [R-NE]
#47 71 Sen. Dan Sullivan [R-AK]
#48 48 Sen. David Perdue [R-GA]
#48 48 Sen. Mike Rounds [R-SD]
#50 46 Sen. James Risch [R-ID]
#51 39 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS, 1979-2018]
#52 34 Sen. Daniel Coats [R-IN, 2011-2016]
#53 15 Sen. Thom Tillis [R-NC]
#54 11 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 114th Congress) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.