skip to main content

2016 Report Cards: Serving 10+ Years (Senate)

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 114th Congress (Jan 6, 2015-Jan 3, 2017), as of Aug 24, 2017.

Page Icon

Look at report cards for...


Laws Enacted

The number of bills each legislator introduced that became law in the 114th Congress, including via incorporation into other bills. Keep in mind that it takes a law to repeal a law. Very few bills ever become law.

Serving 10+ Years (Senate)
most bills
#1 15 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT]
#2 11 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#3 9 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#4 8 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#5 7 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN]
#6 6 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#6 6 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA]
#6 6 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#9 5 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#9 5 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#9 5 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#9 5 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#9 5 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS]
#9 5 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#15 4 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#15 4 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#15 4 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#15 4 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#15 4 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#15 4 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#21 3 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#21 3 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#21 3 Sen. David Vitter [R-LA, 2005-2016]
#21 3 Sen. Barbara Boxer [D-CA, 1993-2016]
#21 3 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#21 3 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#27 2 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#27 2 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#27 2 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL]
#27 2 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#27 2 Sen. John McCain [R-AZ]
#27 2 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#27 2 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#34 1 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#34 1 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#34 1 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#34 1 Sen. Harry Reid [D-NV, 1987-2016]
#34 1 Sen. Jefferson “Jeff” Sessions [R-AL, 1997-2017]
#34 1 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#34 1 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menéndez [D-NJ]
#34 1 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#34 1 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO]
#43 0 Sen. Daniel Coats [R-IN, 2011-2016]
#43 0 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
#43 0 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#43 0 Sen. Barbara Mikulski [D-MD, 1987-2016]
#43 0 Sen. Bernard “Bernie” Sanders [I-VT]
Export to CSV...

The legislator must be the primary sponsor of the bill or joint resolution that was enacted or the primary sponsor of a bill or joint resolution for which at least about one third of its text was incorporated into another bill or joint resolution that was enacted as law, as determined by an automated analysis. While a legislator may lay claim to authoring other bills that became law, these cases are difficult for us to track quantitatively.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 114th Congress) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.