skip to main content

2016 Report Cards
Serving 10+ Years (Senate) / Cosponsors

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 114th Congress (Jan 6, 2015-Jan 3, 2017), as of Aug 24, 2017.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon

Look at report cards for...



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in the 114th Congress.

Serving 10+ Years (Senate)
most cosponsors
#1 989 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#2 760 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#3 711 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#4 704 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT, 1977-2018]
#5 619 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#6 587 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#7 560 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#8 558 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#9 552 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#10 542 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#11 470 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN, 2003-2020]
#12 458 Sen. David Vitter [R-LA, 2005-2016]
#13 450 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#14 446 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#15 435 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#16 429 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#17 334 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#18 310 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA, 2005-2019]
#19 304 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN, 2007-2018]
#20 288 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#21 265 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#22 257 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#23 256 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#24 245 Sen. Barbara Boxer [D-CA, 1993-2016]
#24 245 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#26 242 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#27 239 Sen. Michael “Mike” Crapo [R-ID]
#28 237 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#29 229 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#30 224 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#31 218 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#32 217 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS, 1997-2020]
#32 217 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#34 212 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#35 211 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#36 210 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY, 1997-2020]
#37 190 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#38 186 Sen. Barbara Mikulski [D-MD, 1987-2016]
#39 153 Sen. John McCain [R-AZ, 1987-2018]
#40 146 Sen. Harry Reid [D-NV, 1987-2016]
#41 139 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#42 132 Sen. Jefferson “Jeff” Sessions [R-AL, 1997-2017]
#43 79 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#44 64 Sen. Bernard “Bernie” Sanders [I-VT]
#45 39 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS, 1979-2018]
#46 34 Sen. Daniel Coats [R-IN, 2011-2016]
#47 11 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 114th Congress) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.