skip to main content

2016 Report Cards: Serving 10+ Years (Senate)

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 114th Congress (Jan 6, 2015-Jan 3, 2017), as of Aug 24, 2017.

Page Icon

Look at report cards for...


Leadership Score

Our unique leadership analysis looks at who is cosponsoring whose bills. A higher score shows a greater ability to get cosponsors on bills.

Serving 10+ Years (Senate)
top leader
#1 1.00 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#2 0.91 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT]
#3 0.89 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#4 0.83 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#5 0.79 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#6 0.78 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#7 0.78 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#8 0.78 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#9 0.76 Sen. David Vitter [R-LA, 2005-2016]
#10 0.75 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#11 0.75 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#12 0.73 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL]
#13 0.72 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#14 0.71 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menéndez [D-NJ]
#15 0.70 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#16 0.67 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN]
#17 0.67 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA]
#18 0.65 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#19 0.61 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#20 0.59 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#21 0.58 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#22 0.57 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#23 0.56 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#24 0.55 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#25 0.54 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#26 0.53 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#27 0.51 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#28 0.50 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#29 0.48 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#30 0.48 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#31 0.48 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#32 0.47 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#33 0.47 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#34 0.46 Sen. John McCain [R-AZ]
#35 0.46 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#36 0.46 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#37 0.45 Sen. Jefferson “Jeff” Sessions [R-AL, 1997-2017]
#38 0.44 Sen. Barbara Mikulski [D-MD, 1987-2016]
#39 0.44 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#40 0.44 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#41 0.41 Sen. Barbara Boxer [D-CA, 1993-2016]
#42 0.34 Sen. Harry Reid [D-NV, 1987-2016]
#43 0.29 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO]
#44 0.15 Sen. Daniel Coats [R-IN, 2011-2016]
#45 0.12 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS, 1979-2018]
#46 0.12 Sen. Bernard “Bernie” Sanders [I-VT]
#47 0.01 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
Export to CSV...

For more, see our methodology. A leadership score is not computed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable statistics. Note that because on this page only legislative activity in the 114th Congress is considered, the leadership scores here may differ from those elsewhere on GovTrack.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 114th Congress) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.