skip to main content

2016 Report Cards
Serving 10+ Years (Senate) / Government Transparency

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 114th Congress (Jan 6, 2015-Jan 3, 2017), as of Aug 24, 2017.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon

Look at report cards for...


Government Transparency

GovTrack looked at whether legislators supported any of the government transparency, accountability, and effectiveness bills that we identified in the 114th Congress. We gave a score to each legislator based on one point for cosponsoring and three points for sponsoring any of these bills.

Serving 10+ Years (Senate)
most often
#1 11 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#2 10 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#3 7 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#4 6 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#4 6 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#6 5 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#6 5 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#8 4 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#8 4 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#8 4 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#11 3 Sen. Barbara Boxer [D-CA, 1993-2016]
#11 3 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#11 3 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#11 3 Sen. Barbara Mikulski [D-MD, 1987-2016]
#11 3 Sen. Bernard “Bernie” Sanders [I-VT]
#11 3 Sen. David Vitter [R-LA, 2005-2016]
#17 2 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#17 2 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#17 2 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#17 2 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#17 2 Sen. John McCain [R-AZ, 1987-2018]
#17 2 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#17 2 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#17 2 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#17 2 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#26 1 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#26 1 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#26 1 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS, 1979-2018]
#26 1 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA, 2005-2019]
#26 1 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#26 1 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#26 1 Sen. Harry Reid [D-NV, 1987-2016]
#26 1 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#26 1 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#35 0 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#35 0 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#35 0 Sen. Daniel Coats [R-IN, 2011-2016]
#35 0 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN, 2007-2018]
#35 0 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#35 0 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#35 0 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT, 1977-2018]
#35 0 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#35 0 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#35 0 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#35 0 Sen. Jefferson “Jeff” Sessions [R-AL, 1997-2017]
#35 0 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
#35 0 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 114th Congress) was the 114th Congress (freshmen) or 113th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.