skip to main content

2017 Report Cards
House Freshmen / Bills Cosponsored

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2017 legislative year (Jan 3, 2017-Dec 31, 2017), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 6, 2018.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in 2017.

House Freshmen
most bills
#1 526 Rep. Raskin [D-MD8]
#2 427 Rep. Soto [D-FL9]
#3 400 Rep. Khanna [D-CA17]
#4 385 Rep. Jayapal [D-WA7]
#5 287 Rep. Rosen [D-NV3]
#6 274 Rep. Fitzpatrick [R-PA8]
#7 266 Rep. Barragán [D-CA44]
#8 258 Rep. Carbajal [D-CA24]
#8 258 Rep. Espaillat [D-NY13]
#10 214 Rep. O’Halleran [D-AZ1]
#11 211 Rep. Panetta [D-CA20]
#12 208 Rep. Crist [D-FL13]
#13 206 Rep. Gonzalez [D-TX15]
#14 204 Rep. Correa [D-CA46]
#15 197 Rep. Blunt Rochester [D-DE]
#16 196 Rep. Bacon [R-NE2]
#17 194 Rep. Suozzi [D-NY3]
#18 191 Rep. Krishnamoorthi [D-IL8]
#19 186 Rep. Gaetz [R-FL1]
#19 186 Rep. Murphy [D-FL7]
#21 184 Rep. Faso [R-NY19]
#22 182 Rep. Brown [D-MD4]
#23 179 Rep. Demings [D-FL10]
#24 177 Rep. McEachin [D-VA4]
#25 176 Rep. Kihuen [D-NV4]
#26 175 Rep. Lawson [D-FL5]
#27 171 Rep. Tenney [R-NY22]
#28 169 Rep. Garrett [R-VA5]
#28 169 Rep. Gottheimer [D-NJ5]
#30 168 Rep. Marshall [R-KS1]
#31 166 Rep. Banks [R-IN3]
#32 145 Rep. Biggs [R-AZ5]
#32 145 Rep. Gallagher [R-WI8]
#34 138 Rep. Mast [R-FL18]
#34 138 Rep. Mitchell [R-MI10]
#34 138 Rep. Smucker [R-PA16]
#37 137 Rep. Dunn [R-FL2]
#38 131 Rep. Norman [R-SC5]
#39 128 Rep. Budd [R-NC13]
#39 128 Rep. Rooney [R-FL19]
#41 126 Rep. Rutherford [R-FL4]
#42 122 Rep. Ferguson [R-GA3]
#43 121 Rep. Arrington [R-TX19]
#44 116 Rep. Gomez [D-CA34]
#45 110 Rep. Bergman [R-MI1]
#46 101 Commish. González-Colón [R-PR]
#47 97 Rep. Higgins [R-LA3]
#48 90 Rep. Comer [R-KY1]
#49 84 Rep. Hollingsworth [R-IN9]
#50 82 Rep. Johnson [R-LA4]
#50 82 Rep. Lewis [R-MN2]
#52 75 Rep. Taylor [R-VA2]
#53 69 Rep. Kustoff [R-TN8]
#54 67 Rep. Estes [R-KS4]
#55 62 Rep. Cheney [R-WY]
#56 42 Rep. Gianforte [R-MT]
#57 34 Rep. Handel [R-GA6]
#58 13 Rep. Curtis [R-UT3]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2017) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.