skip to main content

2017 Report Cards
House Freshmen / Cosponsors

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2017 legislative year (Jan 3, 2017-Dec 31, 2017), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 6, 2018.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in 2017.

House Freshmen
most cosponsors
#1 505 Rep. Stephanie Murphy [D-FL7]
#2 394 Rep. Pramila Jayapal [D-WA7]
#3 307 Rep. Adriano Espaillat [D-NY13]
#4 274 Rep. Anthony Brown [D-MD4]
#5 247 Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi [D-IL8]
#6 225 Rep. Mike Gallagher [R-WI8]
#7 220 Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick [R-PA1]
#8 188 Rep. Al Lawson [D-FL5]
#9 157 Rep. Luis Correa [D-CA46]
#10 151 Rep. Salud Carbajal [D-CA24]
#11 145 Rep. Val Demings [D-FL10]
#12 136 Rep. Andy Biggs [R-AZ5]
#13 132 Rep. Ro Khanna [D-CA17]
#14 131 Rep. Jamie Raskin [D-MD8]
#15 129 Rep. Charlie Crist [D-FL13]
#16 125 Rep. Neal Dunn [R-FL2]
#17 120 Rep. Thomas Garrett [R-VA5, 2017-2018]
#18 116 Rep. Don Bacon [R-NE2]
#18 116 Rep. Matt Gaetz [R-FL1]
#20 114 Rep. Darren Soto [D-FL9]
#21 104 Rep. Scott Taylor [R-VA2, 2017-2018]
#22 98 Sen. Jacky Rosen [D-NV]
#23 94 Rep. John Faso [R-NY19, 2017-2018]
#24 83 Sen. Roger Marshall [R-KS]
#25 78 Rep. Donald McEachin [D-VA4]
#26 77 Rep. Jack Bergman [R-MI1]
#27 74 Rep. Josh Gottheimer [D-NJ5]
#28 67 Rep. Nanette Barragán [D-CA44]
#29 61 Rep. Claudia Tenney [R-NY22, 2017-2018]
#30 60 Rep. David Kustoff [R-TN8]
#30 60 Rep. Brian Mast [R-FL18]
#32 59 Rep. Jim Banks [R-IN3]
#33 54 Rep. Francis Rooney [R-FL19, 2017-2020]
#34 51 Rep. Lloyd Smucker [R-PA11]
#35 44 Rep. Jason Lewis [R-MN2, 2017-2018]
#36 42 Rep. James Comer [R-KY1]
#37 39 Rep. Tom O’Halleran [D-AZ1]
#38 36 Rep. Ted Budd [R-NC13]
#39 34 Rep. Paul Mitchell [I-MI10, 2017-2020]
#40 33 Commish. Jenniffer González-Colón [R-PR0]
#40 33 Rep. Clay Higgins [R-LA3]
#42 31 Rep. Drew Ferguson [R-GA3]
#43 27 Rep. Thomas Suozzi [D-NY3]
#44 26 Rep. Liz Cheney [R-WY0]
#44 26 Rep. Trey Hollingsworth [R-IN9]
#46 25 Rep. Ruben Kihuen [D-NV4, 2017-2018]
#47 24 Rep. John Rutherford [R-FL4]
#48 21 Rep. Mike Johnson [R-LA4]
#48 21 Rep. Ralph Norman [R-SC5]
#50 16 Rep. John Curtis [R-UT3]
#51 12 Rep. Jodey Arrington [R-TX19]
#51 12 Rep. Vicente Gonzalez [D-TX15]
#53 9 Rep. Ron Estes [R-KS4]
#53 9 Rep. Jimmy Panetta [D-CA20]
#55 6 Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester [D-DE0]
#56 2 Rep. Greg Gianforte [R-MT0, 2017-2020]
#57 0 Rep. Jimmy Gomez [D-CA34]
#57 0 Rep. Karen Handel [R-GA6, 2017-2018]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2017) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.