skip to main content

2017 Report Cards
House Sophomores / Writing Bipartisan Bills

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2017 legislative year (Jan 3, 2017-Dec 31, 2017), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 6, 2018.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Writing Bipartisan Bills

In this era of partisanship, it is encouraging to see Members of Congress working across the aisle. This is the number of bills introduced by each legislator in 2017 which had both a Democratic cosponsor and a Republican cosponsor.

House Sophomores
most bills
#1 18 Rep. John Katko [R-NY24]
#2 14 Rep. Carlos Curbelo [R-FL26, 2015-2018]
#2 14 Sen. Martha McSally [R-AZ]
#4 10 Rep. Lee Zeldin [R-NY1]
#5 8 Rep. Brendan Boyle [D-PA2]
#5 8 Rep. Steve Knight [R-CA25, 2015-2018]
#5 8 Rep. Elise Stefanik [R-NY21]
#5 8 Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA35]
#9 7 Rep. Garret Graves [R-LA6]
#9 7 Rep. Bradley “Brad” Schneider [D-IL10]
#11 6 Rep. Mike Bost [R-IL12]
#11 6 Rep. Buddy Carter [R-GA1]
#11 6 Rep. Barbara Comstock [R-VA10, 2015-2018]
#11 6 Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA33]
#11 6 Rep. Tom MacArthur [R-NJ3, 2015-2018]
#11 6 Rep. Seth Moulton [D-MA6]
#11 6 Rep. David Young [R-IA3, 2015-2018]
#18 5 Rep. Daniel Donovan [R-NY11, 2015-2018]
#18 5 Rep. Tom Emmer [R-MN6]
#18 5 Rep. French Hill [R-AR2]
#18 5 Rep. Darin LaHood [R-IL18]
#18 5 Rep. Kathleen Rice [D-NY4]
#18 5 Rep. Dave Trott [R-MI11, 2015-2018]
#24 4 Rep. Mike Bishop [R-MI8, 2015-2018]
#24 4 Rep. Rod Blum [R-IA1, 2015-2018]
#24 4 Rep. Will Hurd [R-TX23]
#24 4 Rep. Brenda Lawrence [D-MI14]
#24 4 Rep. Barry Loudermilk [R-GA11]
#24 4 Rep. Dan Newhouse [R-WA4]
#24 4 Rep. Bruce Poliquin [R-ME2, 2015-2018]
#24 4 Rep. Steve Russell [R-OK5, 2015-2018]
#32 3 Rep. Ralph Abraham [R-LA5]
#32 3 Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA31]
#32 3 Rep. David “Dave” Brat [R-VA7, 2014-2018]
#32 3 Rep. Ken Buck [R-CO4]
#32 3 Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA11]
#32 3 Rep. Ruben Gallego [D-AZ7]
#32 3 Rep. Evan Jenkins [R-WV3, 2015-2018]
#32 3 Rep. Mia Love [R-UT4, 2015-2018]
#40 2 Rep. Alma Adams [D-NC12]
#40 2 Rep. Rick Allen [R-GA12]
#40 2 Rep. Aumua Amata [R-AS0]
#40 2 Rep. Brian Babin [R-TX36]
#40 2 Rep. Donald Beyer [D-VA8]
#40 2 Rep. Ryan Costello [R-PA6, 2015-2018]
#40 2 Rep. Debbie Dingell [D-MI12]
#40 2 Rep. Glenn Grothman [R-WI6]
#40 2 Rep. Alex Mooney [R-WV2]
#40 2 Rep. Gary Palmer [R-AL6]
#40 2 Rep. Stacey Plaskett [D-VI0]
#40 2 Rep. John Ratcliffe [R-TX4, 2015-2020]
#40 2 Rep. David Rouzer [R-NC7]
#40 2 Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman [D-NJ12]
#40 2 Rep. Bruce Westerman [R-AR4]
#55 1 Rep. Warren Davidson [R-OH8]
#55 1 Rep. John Moolenaar [R-MI4]
#55 1 Rep. Donald Norcross [D-NJ1]
#55 1 Rep. Mark Walker [R-NC6]
#55 1 Rep. Mimi Walters [R-CA45, 2015-2018]
#60 0 Rep. Dwight Evans [D-PA3]
#60 0 Rep. Jody Hice [R-GA10]
#60 0 Rep. Trent Kelly [R-MS1]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2017) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.