skip to main content

2017 Report Cards
House Sophomores / Bills Cosponsored

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2017 legislative year (Jan 3, 2017-Dec 31, 2017), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 6, 2018.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in 2017.

House Sophomores
most bills
#1 495 Rep. Dwight Evans [D-PA3]
#2 397 Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA33]
#3 386 Rep. Seth Moulton [D-MA6]
#4 348 Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA11]
#5 330 Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman [D-NJ12]
#6 303 Rep. Ruben Gallego [D-AZ7]
#7 296 Rep. Debbie Dingell [D-MI12]
#8 290 Rep. Brendan Boyle [D-PA2]
#9 289 Rep. Donald Beyer [D-VA8]
#10 275 Rep. Daniel Donovan [R-NY11, 2015-2018]
#11 270 Rep. Kathleen Rice [D-NY4]
#12 257 Rep. Barbara Comstock [R-VA10, 2015-2018]
#13 241 Rep. Elise Stefanik [R-NY21]
#14 239 Rep. Ryan Costello [R-PA6, 2015-2018]
#14 239 Rep. Bradley “Brad” Schneider [D-IL10]
#16 235 Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA35]
#17 230 Rep. Donald Norcross [D-NJ1]
#18 229 Rep. Glenn Grothman [R-WI6]
#19 225 Rep. Carlos Curbelo [R-FL26, 2015-2018]
#20 221 Rep. Brian Babin [R-TX36]
#21 217 Rep. Mike Bishop [R-MI8, 2015-2018]
#22 206 Rep. Brenda Lawrence [D-MI14]
#23 204 Rep. Jody Hice [R-GA10]
#23 204 Rep. John Katko [R-NY24]
#25 203 Rep. Lee Zeldin [R-NY1]
#26 201 Rep. Alma Adams [D-NC12]
#27 195 Rep. David Young [R-IA3, 2015-2018]
#28 189 Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA31]
#29 185 Rep. Rick Allen [R-GA12]
#30 180 Rep. David Rouzer [R-NC7]
#31 178 Rep. Earl “Buddy” Carter [R-GA1]
#31 178 Rep. Alexander Mooney [R-WV2]
#33 174 Rep. Ralph Abraham [R-LA5, 2015-2020]
#34 173 Rep. Bruce Poliquin [R-ME2, 2015-2018]
#35 165 Rep. David “Dave” Brat [R-VA7, 2014-2018]
#36 163 Rep. Tom Emmer [R-MN6]
#36 163 Rep. Steve Knight [R-CA25, 2015-2018]
#38 162 Rep. Mike Bost [R-IL12]
#39 148 Rep. Mia Love [R-UT4, 2015-2018]
#40 144 Rep. Bruce Westerman [R-AR4]
#41 142 Rep. Tom MacArthur [R-NJ3, 2015-2018]
#42 141 Rep. John Ratcliffe [R-TX4, 2015-2020]
#43 139 Rep. Aumua Amata Radewagen [R-AS0]
#44 132 Rep. Barry Loudermilk [R-GA11]
#44 132 Rep. Dan Newhouse [R-WA4]
#46 128 Rep. John Moolenaar [R-MI4]
#47 123 Rep. Evan Jenkins [R-WV3, 2015-2018]
#48 122 Rep. Trent Kelly [R-MS1]
#49 120 Rep. French Hill [R-AR2]
#50 117 Rep. Dave Trott [R-MI11, 2015-2018]
#51 113 Rep. Darin LaHood [R-IL18]
#52 112 Sen. Martha McSally [R-AZ, 2019-2020]
#53 109 Rep. Will Hurd [R-TX23, 2015-2020]
#54 103 Rep. Rod Blum [R-IA1, 2015-2018]
#54 103 Rep. Mark Walker [R-NC6, 2015-2020]
#56 100 Rep. Steve Russell [R-OK5, 2015-2018]
#57 96 Rep. Stacey Plaskett [D-VI0]
#58 92 Rep. Mimi Walters [R-CA45, 2015-2018]
#59 82 Rep. Ken Buck [R-CO4]
#60 78 Rep. Warren Davidson [R-OH8]
#61 71 Rep. Gary Palmer [R-AL6]
#62 57 Rep. Garret Graves [R-LA6]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2017) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.