skip to main content

2017 Report Cards: California Delegation

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2017 legislative year (Jan 3, 2017-Dec 31, 2017), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 6, 2018.

Page Icon


Bills Out of Committee

The number of bills that each legislator introduced in 2017 that got past committee and to the floor for consideration. Most bills and resolutions languish in committee without any action.

California Delegation
most often
#1 13 Rep. Edward “Ed” Royce [R-CA39]
#11 2 Rep. Devin Nunes [R-CA22]
#11 2 Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA14]
#11 2 Rep. Ken Calvert [R-CA42]
#11 2 Rep. Luis Correa [D-CA46]
#11 2 Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA11]
#11 2 Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA35]
#11 2 Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA31]
#11 2 Rep. Ro Khanna [D-CA17]
#19 1 Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA28]
#19 1 Rep. Anna Eshoo [D-CA18]
#19 1 Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA2]
#19 1 Rep. Jeff Denham [R-CA10]
#19 1 Rep. Jimmy Panetta [D-CA20]
#19 1 Rep. Judy Chu [D-CA27]
#19 1 Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA37]
#19 1 Rep. Linda Sánchez [D-CA38]
#19 1 Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA43]
#19 1 Rep. Mike Thompson [D-CA5]
#19 1 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#2 7 Rep. Kevin McCarthy [R-CA23]
#2 7 Rep. Steve Knight [R-CA25]
#30 0 Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA47]
#30 0 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#30 0 Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA13]
#30 0 Rep. Brad Sherman [D-CA30]
#30 0 Rep. Dana Rohrabacher [R-CA48]
#30 0 Rep. Doris Matsui [D-CA6]
#30 0 Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA15]
#30 0 Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA32]
#30 0 Rep. Jerry McNerney [D-CA9]
#30 0 Rep. Jim Costa [D-CA16]
#30 0 Rep. Jimmy Gomez [D-CA34]
#30 0 Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA3]
#30 0 Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA51]
#30 0 Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA40]
#30 0 Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA41]
#30 0 Rep. Mimi Walters [R-CA45]
#30 0 Rep. Nancy Pelosi [D-CA12]
#30 0 Rep. Nanette Barragán [D-CA44]
#30 0 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#30 0 Rep. Salud Carbajal [D-CA24]
#30 0 Rep. Susan Davis [D-CA53]
#30 0 Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA33]
#30 0 Rep. Tony Cárdenas [D-CA29]
#30 0 Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D-CA19]
#4 4 Rep. Darrell Issa [R-CA49]
#4 4 Rep. Paul Cook [R-CA8]
#4 4 Rep. Tom McClintock [R-CA4]
#7 3 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21]
#7 3 Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA1]
#7 3 Rep. Duncan Hunter [R-CA50]
#7 3 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2017) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.