skip to main content

2017 Report Cards: California Delegation

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2017 legislative year (Jan 3, 2017-Dec 31, 2017), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 6, 2018.

Page Icon


Powerful Cosponsors

The number of bills that each legislator introduced in 2017 that had a cosponsor who was a chair or ranking member of a committee that the bill was referred to. Getting support from committee leaders on relevant committees is a crucial step in moving legislation forward.

California Delegation
most often
#1 10 Rep. Edward “Ed” Royce [R-CA39]
#11 4 Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA1]
#11 4 Rep. Duncan Hunter [R-CA50]
#11 4 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#11 4 Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA37]
#11 4 Rep. Luis Correa [D-CA46]
#11 4 Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA41]
#11 4 Rep. Mike Thompson [D-CA5]
#11 4 Rep. Salud Carbajal [D-CA24]
#19 3 Rep. Devin Nunes [R-CA22]
#19 3 Rep. Jerry McNerney [D-CA9]
#19 3 Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA40]
#19 3 Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA11]
#19 3 Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA43]
#19 3 Rep. Steve Knight [R-CA25]
#2 9 Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA13]
#25 2 Rep. Anna Eshoo [D-CA18]
#25 2 Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA15]
#25 2 Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA32]
#25 2 Rep. Jeff Denham [R-CA10]
#25 2 Rep. Judy Chu [D-CA27]
#25 2 Rep. Ken Calvert [R-CA42]
#25 2 Rep. Nanette Barragán [D-CA44]
#25 2 Rep. Paul Cook [R-CA8]
#25 2 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#25 2 Rep. Susan Davis [D-CA53]
#25 2 Rep. Tony Cárdenas [D-CA29]
#3 8 Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA47]
#3 8 Rep. Darrell Issa [R-CA49]
#36 1 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#36 1 Rep. Brad Sherman [D-CA30]
#36 1 Rep. Dana Rohrabacher [R-CA48]
#36 1 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21]
#36 1 Rep. Jim Costa [D-CA16]
#36 1 Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA3]
#36 1 Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA51]
#36 1 Rep. Kevin McCarthy [R-CA23]
#36 1 Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA31]
#36 1 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#36 1 Rep. Ro Khanna [D-CA17]
#47 0 Rep. Doris Matsui [D-CA6]
#47 0 Rep. Jimmy Gomez [D-CA34]
#47 0 Rep. Jimmy Panetta [D-CA20]
#47 0 Rep. Linda Sánchez [D-CA38]
#47 0 Rep. Mimi Walters [R-CA45]
#47 0 Rep. Nancy Pelosi [D-CA12]
#47 0 Rep. Tom McClintock [R-CA4]
#5 7 Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA2]
#6 6 Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D-CA19]
#7 5 Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA28]
#7 5 Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA14]
#7 5 Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA35]
#7 5 Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA33]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2017) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.