skip to main content

2017 Report Cards: California Delegation

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2017 legislative year (Jan 3, 2017-Dec 31, 2017), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 6, 2018.

Page Icon


Committee Positions

A score, giving five points for each full committee leadership position and one point for each subcommittee leadership position, for each legislator.

California Delegation
most committee positions
#1 5 Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA28]
#1 5 Rep. Devin Nunes [R-CA22]
#1 5 Rep. Edward “Ed” Royce [R-CA39]
#1 5 Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA43]
#32 0 Rep. Anna Eshoo [D-CA18]
#32 0 Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA13]
#32 0 Rep. Doris Matsui [D-CA6]
#32 0 Rep. Jerry McNerney [D-CA9]
#32 0 Rep. Jimmy Gomez [D-CA34]
#32 0 Rep. Jimmy Panetta [D-CA20]
#32 0 Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA51]
#32 0 Rep. Judy Chu [D-CA27]
#32 0 Rep. Kevin McCarthy [R-CA23]
#32 0 Rep. Linda Sánchez [D-CA38]
#32 0 Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA11]
#32 0 Rep. Mike Thompson [D-CA5]
#32 0 Rep. Mimi Walters [R-CA45]
#32 0 Rep. Nancy Pelosi [D-CA12]
#32 0 Rep. Nanette Barragán [D-CA44]
#32 0 Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA31]
#32 0 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#32 0 Rep. Ro Khanna [D-CA17]
#32 0 Rep. Salud Carbajal [D-CA24]
#32 0 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#32 0 Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA33]
#32 0 Rep. Tony Cárdenas [D-CA29]
#5 2 Rep. Ken Calvert [R-CA42]
#5 2 Rep. Steve Knight [R-CA25]
#7 1 Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA47]
#7 1 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#7 1 Rep. Brad Sherman [D-CA30]
#7 1 Rep. Dana Rohrabacher [R-CA48]
#7 1 Rep. Darrell Issa [R-CA49]
#7 1 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21]
#7 1 Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA1]
#7 1 Rep. Duncan Hunter [R-CA50]
#7 1 Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA15]
#7 1 Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA32]
#7 1 Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA14]
#7 1 Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA2]
#7 1 Rep. Jeff Denham [R-CA10]
#7 1 Rep. Jim Costa [D-CA16]
#7 1 Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA3]
#7 1 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#7 1 Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA37]
#7 1 Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA40]
#7 1 Rep. Luis Correa [D-CA46]
#7 1 Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA41]
#7 1 Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA35]
#7 1 Rep. Paul Cook [R-CA8]
#7 1 Rep. Susan Davis [D-CA53]
#7 1 Rep. Tom McClintock [R-CA4]
#7 1 Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D-CA19]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2017) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.