skip to main content

2017 Report Cards: California Delegation

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2017 legislative year (Jan 3, 2017-Dec 31, 2017), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 6, 2018.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in 2017.

California Delegation
most bills
#1 495 Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA13]
#10 361 Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA15]
#11 358 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#12 348 Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA11]
#13 334 Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA2]
#13 334 Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA3]
#15 305 Rep. Anna Eshoo [D-CA18]
#16 293 Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA14]
#17 281 Rep. Tony Cárdenas [D-CA29]
#18 268 Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA40]
#19 266 Rep. Nanette Barragán [D-CA44]
#2 468 Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D-CA19]
#20 258 Rep. Salud Carbajal [D-CA24]
#21 254 Rep. Doris Matsui [D-CA6]
#22 250 Rep. Mike Thompson [D-CA5]
#23 245 Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA28]
#24 240 Rep. Jerry McNerney [D-CA9]
#25 235 Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA35]
#26 230 Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA1]
#27 225 Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA51]
#28 221 Rep. Susan Davis [D-CA53]
#29 211 Rep. Jimmy Panetta [D-CA20]
#3 421 Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA32]
#30 209 Rep. Brad Sherman [D-CA30]
#31 204 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21]
#31 204 Rep. Luis Correa [D-CA46]
#33 194 Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA37]
#34 193 Rep. Paul Cook [R-CA8]
#35 192 Rep. Jim Costa [D-CA16]
#36 189 Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA31]
#37 188 Rep. Linda Sánchez [D-CA38]
#38 172 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#39 169 Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA43]
#4 417 Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA41]
#40 163 Rep. Edward “Ed” Royce [R-CA39]
#40 163 Rep. Steve Knight [R-CA25]
#42 147 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#43 132 Rep. Tom McClintock [R-CA4]
#44 126 Rep. Darrell Issa [R-CA49]
#45 121 Rep. Ken Calvert [R-CA42]
#46 119 Rep. Duncan Hunter [R-CA50]
#47 116 Rep. Jimmy Gomez [D-CA34]
#48 104 Rep. Jeff Denham [R-CA10]
#49 99 Rep. Dana Rohrabacher [R-CA48]
#5 400 Rep. Ro Khanna [D-CA17]
#50 92 Rep. Mimi Walters [R-CA45]
#51 71 Rep. Devin Nunes [R-CA22]
#52 37 Rep. Nancy Pelosi [D-CA12]
#53 17 Rep. Kevin McCarthy [R-CA23]
#6 397 Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA33]
#7 386 Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA47]
#8 383 Rep. Judy Chu [D-CA27]
#9 363 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2017) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.