skip to main content

2017 Report Cards
California Delegation / Cosponsors

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2017 legislative year (Jan 3, 2017-Dec 31, 2017), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 6, 2018.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in 2017.

California Delegation
most cosponsors
#1 1082 Rep. Edward “Ed” Royce [R-CA39, 2013-2018]
#2 818 Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA13]
#3 648 Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA14]
#4 644 Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA43]
#5 604 Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA2]
#6 591 Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D-CA19]
#6 591 Rep. Mike Thompson [D-CA5]
#8 572 Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA33]
#9 505 Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA40]
#10 469 Rep. Susan Davis [D-CA53, 2003-2020]
#11 450 Rep. Tony Cárdenas [D-CA29]
#12 410 Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA37]
#13 381 Rep. Kevin McCarthy [R-CA23]
#14 371 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21]
#15 346 Rep. Jeff Denham [R-CA10, 2013-2018]
#16 329 Rep. Darrell Issa [R-CA50]
#16 329 Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA47]
#18 298 Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA15]
#19 284 Rep. Linda Sánchez [D-CA38]
#20 259 Rep. Judy Chu [D-CA27]
#21 214 Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA41]
#22 195 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#23 192 Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA28]
#24 178 Rep. Anna Eshoo [D-CA18]
#25 162 Rep. Duncan Hunter [R-CA50, 2013-2020]
#25 162 Rep. Tom McClintock [R-CA4]
#27 160 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#28 157 Rep. Luis Correa [D-CA46]
#29 151 Rep. Salud Carbajal [D-CA24]
#30 150 Rep. Ken Calvert [R-CA42]
#31 141 Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA35]
#32 134 Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA1]
#33 133 Rep. Steve Knight [R-CA25, 2015-2018]
#34 132 Rep. Paul Cook [R-CA8, 2013-2020]
#34 132 Rep. Ro Khanna [D-CA17]
#36 113 Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA11]
#37 97 Rep. Devin Nunes [R-CA22]
#38 95 Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA3]
#39 90 Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA31]
#40 87 Rep. Brad Sherman [D-CA30]
#41 81 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#42 68 Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA32]
#43 67 Rep. Nanette Barragán [D-CA44]
#44 57 Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA51]
#45 45 Rep. Dana Rohrabacher [R-CA48, 2013-2018]
#46 37 Rep. Jerry McNerney [D-CA9]
#47 28 Rep. Mimi Walters [R-CA45, 2015-2018]
#48 15 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#49 12 Rep. Jim Costa [D-CA16]
#50 11 Rep. Doris Matsui [D-CA6]
#51 9 Rep. Jimmy Panetta [D-CA20]
#52 0 Rep. Jimmy Gomez [D-CA34]
#52 0 Rep. Nancy Pelosi [D-CA12]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2017) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.