skip to main content

2017 Report Cards: California Delegation

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2017 legislative year (Jan 3, 2017-Dec 31, 2017), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 6, 2018.

Page Icon


Missed Votes

The percentage of votes each legislator missed in 2017.

California Delegation
most absent
#1 27.6% Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA32]
#2 16.1% Rep. Jim Costa [D-CA16]
#3 12.8% Rep. Nancy Pelosi [D-CA12]
#4 10.6% Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA33]
#5 9.0% Rep. Dana Rohrabacher [R-CA48]
#6 5.9% Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA2]
#7 5.5% Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA37]
#8 3.8% Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA47]
#9 3.7% Rep. Susan Davis [D-CA53]
#9 3.7% Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA14]
#11 3.5% Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA40]
#11 3.5% Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA43]
#13 3.1% Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA15]
#14 3.0% Rep. Nanette Barragán [D-CA44]
#15 2.8% Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA1]
#15 2.8% Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA41]
#15 2.8% Rep. Mike Thompson [D-CA5]
#18 2.5% Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA3]
#19 2.5% Rep. Jimmy Gomez [D-CA34]
#20 2.4% Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#21 2.3% Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21]
#22 2.1% Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D-CA19]
#23 2.0% Rep. Linda Sánchez [D-CA38]
#24 1.8% Rep. Doris Matsui [D-CA6]
#25 1.7% Rep. Judy Chu [D-CA27]
#25 1.7% Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA35]
#27 1.5% Rep. Duncan Hunter [R-CA50]
#27 1.5% Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA13]
#29 1.4% Rep. Tony Cárdenas [D-CA29]
#29 1.4% Rep. Devin Nunes [R-CA22]
#29 1.4% Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#29 1.4% Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA51]
#33 1.3% Rep. Steve Knight [R-CA25]
#34 1.1% Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA31]
#34 1.1% Rep. Ro Khanna [D-CA17]
#34 1.1% Rep. Kevin McCarthy [R-CA23]
#34 1.1% Rep. Jerry McNerney [D-CA9]
#38 1.0% Rep. Ken Calvert [R-CA42]
#38 1.0% Rep. Anna Eshoo [D-CA18]
#38 1.0% Rep. Darrell Issa [R-CA49]
#41 0.8% Rep. Jeff Denham [R-CA10]
#42 0.7% Rep. Edward “Ed” Royce [R-CA39]
#42 0.7% Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#42 0.7% Rep. Brad Sherman [D-CA30]
#45 0.6% Rep. Luis Correa [D-CA46]
#45 0.6% Rep. Tom McClintock [R-CA4]
#47 0.4% Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA11]
#47 0.4% Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA28]
#49 0.1% Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#49 0.1% Rep. Salud Carbajal [D-CA24]
#49 0.1% Rep. Paul Cook [R-CA8]
#49 0.1% Rep. Jimmy Panetta [D-CA20]
#49 0.1% Rep. Mimi Walters [R-CA45]
Export to CSV...

The Speaker of the House is not included in this statistic because according to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings, and the delegates from the five island territories and the District of Columbia are also not included because they were not elligible to vote in any roll call votes.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2017) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.