skip to main content

2017 Report Cards
Florida Delegation / Ideology Score

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2017 legislative year (Jan 3, 2017-Dec 31, 2017), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 6, 2018.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Ideology Score

Our unique ideology analysis assigns a score to Members of Congress according to their legislative behavior by whether they sponsor and cosponsor overlapping sets of bills and resolutions with other Members of Congress. The score can be interpreted as a left—right scale measuring the dominant ideological difference or differences among Members of Congress, although of course it only takes into account a small aspect of reality.

Florida Delegation
most politically right
#1 0.88 Rep. Ted Yoho [R-FL3]
#2 0.80 Rep. Neal Dunn [R-FL2]
#3 0.79 Rep. Bill Posey [R-FL8]
#4 0.79 Rep. Matt Gaetz [R-FL1]
#5 0.77 Rep. Gus Bilirakis [R-FL12]
#6 0.76 Rep. Francis Rooney [R-FL19]
#7 0.76 Rep. Dennis Ross [R-FL15, 2013-2018]
#8 0.74 Rep. Ron DeSantis [R-FL6, 2013-2018]
#9 0.73 Rep. Daniel Webster [R-FL11]
#10 0.73 Rep. Thomas Rooney [R-FL17, 2013-2018]
#11 0.70 Rep. John Rutherford [R-FL4]
#12 0.66 Rep. Carlos Curbelo [R-FL26, 2015-2018]
#13 0.64 Rep. Vern Buchanan [R-FL16]
#14 0.63 Rep. Brian Mast [R-FL18]
#15 0.62 Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart [R-FL25]
#16 0.56 Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen [R-FL27, 2013-2018]
#17 0.44 Rep. Stephanie Murphy [D-FL7]
#18 0.37 Rep. Charlie Crist [D-FL13]
#19 0.35 Rep. Al Lawson [D-FL5]
#20 0.34 Rep. Lois Frankel [D-FL21]
#21 0.33 Rep. Val Demings [D-FL10]
#22 0.29 Rep. Theodore “Ted” Deutch [D-FL22]
#23 0.29 Rep. Kathy Castor [D-FL14]
#24 0.25 Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz [D-FL23]
#25 0.25 Rep. Darren Soto [D-FL9]
#26 0.23 Rep. Frederica Wilson [D-FL24]
#27 0.22 Rep. Alcee Hastings [D-FL20]
Export to CSV...

For more, see our methodology. Although we do not report a margin of error, the scores fluctuate significantly over time because of the limited data used in the analysis. An ideology score is not computed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills or who have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable statistics. Note that because on this page only legislative activity in 2017 is considered, the ideology score here may differ from those elsewhere on GovTrack.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2017) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.