skip to main content

2017 Report Cards: Texas Delegation

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2017 legislative year (Jan 3, 2017-Dec 31, 2017), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 6, 2018.

Page Icon


Laws Enacted

The number of bills each legislator introduced that became law in 2017, including via incorporation into other bills. Keep in mind that it takes a law to repeal a law. Very few bills ever become law.

Texas Delegation
most laws
#1 4 Rep. Kevin Brady [R-TX8]
#2 3 Rep. Sam Johnson [R-TX3]
#2 3 Rep. Mac Thornberry [R-TX13]
#4 1 Rep. Joe Barton [R-TX6]
#4 1 Rep. Michael McCaul [R-TX10]
#4 1 Rep. John Ratcliffe [R-TX4]
#4 1 Rep. Filemon Vela [D-TX34]
#8 0 Rep. Jodey Arrington [R-TX19]
#8 0 Rep. Brian Babin [R-TX36]
#8 0 Rep. Michael Burgess [R-TX26]
#8 0 Rep. John Carter [R-TX31]
#8 0 Rep. Joaquin Castro [D-TX20]
#8 0 Rep. Michael Conaway [R-TX11]
#8 0 Rep. Henry Cuellar [D-TX28]
#8 0 Rep. John Culberson [R-TX7]
#8 0 Rep. Lloyd Doggett [D-TX35]
#8 0 Rep. Blake Farenthold [R-TX27, 2011-2018]
#8 0 Rep. Bill Flores [R-TX17]
#8 0 Rep. Louie Gohmert [R-TX1]
#8 0 Rep. Vicente Gonzalez [D-TX15]
#8 0 Rep. Kay Granger [R-TX12]
#8 0 Rep. Al Green [D-TX9]
#8 0 Rep. Gene Green [D-TX29]
#8 0 Rep. Jeb Hensarling [R-TX5]
#8 0 Rep. Will Hurd [R-TX23]
#8 0 Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee [D-TX18]
#8 0 Rep. Eddie Johnson [D-TX30]
#8 0 Rep. Kenny Marchant [R-TX24]
#8 0 Rep. Pete Olson [R-TX22]
#8 0 Rep. Beto O’Rourke [D-TX16]
#8 0 Rep. Ted Poe [R-TX2]
#8 0 Rep. Pete Sessions [R-TX32]
#8 0 Rep. Lamar Smith [R-TX21]
#8 0 Rep. Marc Veasey [D-TX33]
#8 0 Rep. Randy Weber [R-TX14]
#8 0 Rep. Roger Williams [R-TX25]
Export to CSV...

The legislator must be the primary sponsor of the bill or joint resolution that was enacted or the primary sponsor of a bill or joint resolution for which at least about one third of its text was incorporated into another bill or joint resolution that was enacted as law, as determined by an automated analysis. While a legislator may lay claim to authoring other bills that became law, these cases are difficult for us to track quantitatively. We also exclude bills where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2017) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.