skip to main content

2017 Report Cards
Senate Democrats / Working with the Other Chamber

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2017 legislative year (Jan 3, 2017-Dec 31, 2017), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 6, 2018.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Working with the Other Chamber

The House and Senate often work on the same issue simultaneously by introducing companion bills in each chamber. This is the number of bills introduced by each legislator in 2017 that had a companion bill in the other chamber. Working with a sponsor in the other chamber makes a bill more likely to be passed by both the House and Senate.

Senate Democrats
most bills
#1 21 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#2 18 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#3 16 Sen. Mazie Hirono [D-HI]
#4 15 Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand [D-NY]
#4 15 Sen. Edward “Ed” Markey [D-MA]
#6 14 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#6 14 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#8 13 Sen. Tammy Baldwin [D-WI]
#8 13 Sen. Richard Blumenthal [D-CT]
#8 13 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#8 13 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#8 13 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#13 12 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#14 11 Sen. Cory Booker [D-NJ]
#14 11 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#16 10 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#16 10 Sen. Chris Coons [D-DE]
#16 10 Sen. Jeanne Shaheen [D-NH]
#16 10 Sen. Tom Udall [D-NM]
#16 10 Sen. Elizabeth Warren [D-MA]
#21 9 Sen. Michael Bennet [D-CO]
#22 8 Sen. Tammy Duckworth [D-IL]
#22 8 Sen. Martin Heinrich [D-NM]
#22 8 Sen. Joe Manchin [D-WV]
#22 8 Sen. Gary Peters [D-MI]
#22 8 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#22 8 Sen. Mark Warner [D-VA]
#28 7 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#28 7 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#28 7 Sen. Brian Schatz [D-HI]
#31 6 Sen. Alan “Al” Franken [D-MN, 2009-2017]
#31 6 Sen. Jeff Merkley [D-OR]
#33 5 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#33 5 Sen. Joe Donnelly [D-IN, 2013-2018]
#33 5 Sen. Kamala Harris [D-CA]
#33 5 Sen. Timothy “Tim” Kaine [D-VA]
#33 5 Sen. Christopher Murphy [D-CT]
#33 5 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#33 5 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#40 4 Sen. Heidi Heitkamp [D-ND, 2013-2018]
#40 4 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#40 4 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#43 1 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#43 1 Sen. Chris Van Hollen [D-MD]
#45 0 Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto [D-NV]
#45 0 Sen. Margaret “Maggie” Hassan [D-NH]
Export to CSV...

Companion bills are those that are identified as “identical” by Congress’s Congressional Research Service.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2017) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.