skip to main content

2017 Report Cards
Senate Democrats / Bills Cosponsored

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2017 legislative year (Jan 3, 2017-Dec 31, 2017), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 6, 2018.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in 2017.

Senate Democrats
most bills
#1 374 Sen. Richard Blumenthal [D-CT]
#2 351 Sen. Elizabeth Warren [D-MA]
#3 330 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#4 328 Sen. Alan “Al” Franken [D-MN, 2009-2017]
#5 319 Sen. Tammy Baldwin [D-WI]
#6 314 Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand [D-NY]
#7 311 Sen. Edward “Ed” Markey [D-MA]
#8 303 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#9 297 Sen. Chris Coons [D-DE]
#10 289 Sen. Cory Booker [D-NJ]
#11 286 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#12 283 Sen. Jeff Merkley [D-OR]
#13 280 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#14 271 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#15 253 Sen. Jeanne Shaheen [D-NH]
#16 245 Sen. Margaret “Maggie” Hassan [D-NH]
#17 238 Sen. Chris Van Hollen [D-MD]
#18 234 Sen. Mazie Hirono [D-HI]
#18 234 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#20 230 Sen. Gary Peters [D-MI]
#21 207 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#22 206 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#23 205 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#24 204 Sen. Tammy Duckworth [D-IL]
#25 200 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#26 199 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#27 197 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#28 196 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#29 195 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#30 189 Sen. Tom Udall [D-NM]
#31 186 Sen. Timothy “Tim” Kaine [D-VA]
#32 184 Sen. Michael Bennet [D-CO]
#33 177 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#34 176 Sen. Martin Heinrich [D-NM]
#35 172 Sen. Kamala Harris [D-CA]
#35 172 Sen. Christopher Murphy [D-CT]
#37 171 Sen. Brian Schatz [D-HI]
#38 154 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#39 143 Sen. Heidi Heitkamp [D-ND, 2013-2018]
#40 140 Sen. Joe Donnelly [D-IN, 2013-2018]
#41 139 Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto [D-NV]
#42 136 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#42 136 Sen. Joe Manchin [D-WV]
#44 134 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#45 129 Sen. Mark Warner [D-VA]
#46 123 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2017) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.