skip to main content

2017 Report Cards
Senate Democrats / Cosponsors

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2017 legislative year (Jan 3, 2017-Dec 31, 2017), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 6, 2018.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in 2017.

Senate Democrats
most cosponsors
#1 635 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#2 439 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#3 383 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#4 377 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#5 342 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#6 310 Sen. Elizabeth Warren [D-MA]
#7 309 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#8 304 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#9 288 Sen. Jeanne Shaheen [D-NH]
#10 278 Sen. Edward “Ed” Markey [D-MA]
#11 267 Sen. Richard Blumenthal [D-CT]
#12 266 Sen. Tammy Baldwin [D-WI]
#13 262 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#14 253 Sen. Cory Booker [D-NJ]
#15 244 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#16 235 Sen. Mazie Hirono [D-HI]
#17 229 Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand [D-NY]
#18 217 Sen. Mark Warner [D-VA]
#19 208 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#20 207 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#21 204 Sen. Timothy “Tim” Kaine [D-VA]
#22 185 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#23 170 Sen. Jeff Merkley [D-OR]
#24 168 Sen. Heidi Heitkamp [D-ND, 2013-2018]
#25 167 Sen. Christopher Murphy [D-CT]
#26 156 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#27 150 Sen. Tom Udall [D-NM]
#28 144 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#29 137 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#30 136 Sen. Joe Manchin [D-WV]
#31 135 Sen. Chris Coons [D-DE]
#32 133 Sen. Brian Schatz [D-HI]
#33 125 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#34 124 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#35 117 Sen. Michael Bennet [D-CO]
#36 114 Sen. Alan “Al” Franken [D-MN, 2009-2017]
#37 112 Sen. Gary Peters [D-MI]
#38 97 Sen. Tammy Duckworth [D-IL]
#39 82 Sen. Martin Heinrich [D-NM]
#40 79 Sen. Joe Donnelly [D-IN, 2013-2018]
#41 73 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#42 55 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#43 44 Sen. Chris Van Hollen [D-MD]
#44 31 Sen. Kamala Harris [D-CA]
#45 27 Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto [D-NV]
#46 17 Sen. Margaret “Maggie” Hassan [D-NH]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2017) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.