skip to main content

2017 Report Cards: Senate Republicans

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2017 legislative year (Jan 3, 2017-Dec 31, 2017), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 6, 2018.

Page Icon

Look at report cards for...



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in 2017.

Senate Republicans
most cosponsors
#1 551 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#2 403 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT]
#3 399 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#4 367 Sen. Marco Rubio [R-FL]
#5 283 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#6 273 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#7 246 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#8 242 Sen. Dean Heller [R-NV]
#9 225 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#10 222 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#11 204 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA]
#12 196 Sen. Robert “Rob” Portman [R-OH]
#13 184 Sen. Roy Blunt [R-MO]
#14 170 Sen. Jeff Flake [R-AZ]
#15 166 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#16 165 Sen. Mike Lee [R-UT]
#17 163 Sen. Ted Cruz [R-TX]
#18 160 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#19 159 Sen. Joni Ernst [R-IA]
#20 157 Sen. Steve Daines [R-MT]
#21 145 Sen. Bill Cassidy [R-LA]
#22 143 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#23 141 Sen. Patrick “Pat” Toomey [R-PA]
#24 139 Sen. Dan Sullivan [R-AK]
#25 131 Sen. Rand Paul [R-KY]
#26 125 Sen. Jerry Moran [R-KS]
#27 119 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#28 113 Sen. Todd Young [R-IN]
#29 109 Sen. James Risch [R-ID]
#30 103 Sen. Ron Johnson [R-WI]
#30 103 Sen. James Lankford [R-OK]
#32 93 Sen. John McCain [R-AZ, 1987-2018]
#33 92 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#34 90 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#34 90 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#36 89 Sen. Deb Fischer [R-NE]
#37 82 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN]
#38 81 Sen. Tim Scott [R-SC]
#39 79 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#40 78 Sen. John Hoeven [R-ND]
#41 76 Sen. John Boozman [R-AR]
#42 72 Sen. Cory Gardner [R-CO]
#43 68 Sen. Shelley Capito [R-WV]
#44 65 Sen. Mike Rounds [R-SD]
#45 61 Sen. Benjamin Sasse [R-NE]
#46 54 Sen. Tom Cotton [R-AR]
#46 54 Sen. David Perdue [R-GA]
#48 25 Sen. John Kennedy [R-LA]
#49 22 Sen. Thom Tillis [R-NC]
#50 7 Sen. Luther Strange [R-AL, 2017-2017]
#51 2 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS, 1979-2018]
#51 2 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2017) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.