skip to main content

2017 Report Cards: Senate Republicans

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2017 legislative year (Jan 3, 2017-Dec 31, 2017), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 6, 2018.

Page Icon

Look at report cards for...


Government Transparency

GovTrack looked at whether legislators supported any of the government transparency, accountability, and effectiveness bills that we identified in 2017. We gave a score to each legislator based on one point for cosponsoring and three points for sponsoring any of these bills.

Senate Republicans
most often
#1 6 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#2 3 Sen. James Lankford [R-OK]
#20 0 Sen. Benjamin Sasse [R-NE]
#20 0 Sen. Bill Cassidy [R-LA]
#20 0 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN]
#20 0 Sen. David Perdue [R-GA]
#20 0 Sen. Dean Heller [R-NV]
#20 0 Sen. Deb Fischer [R-NE]
#20 0 Sen. James Risch [R-ID]
#20 0 Sen. Jerry Moran [R-KS]
#20 0 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#20 0 Sen. John Boozman [R-AR]
#20 0 Sen. John Hoeven [R-ND]
#20 0 Sen. John McCain [R-AZ, 1987-2018]
#20 0 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#20 0 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA]
#20 0 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#20 0 Sen. Luther Strange [R-AL, 2017-2017]
#20 0 Sen. Marco Rubio [R-FL]
#20 0 Sen. Mike Rounds [R-SD]
#20 0 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#20 0 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#20 0 Sen. Patrick “Pat” Toomey [R-PA]
#20 0 Sen. Rand Paul [R-KY]
#20 0 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#20 0 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
#20 0 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#20 0 Sen. Roy Blunt [R-MO]
#20 0 Sen. Steve Daines [R-MT]
#20 0 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#20 0 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS, 1979-2018]
#20 0 Sen. Thom Tillis [R-NC]
#20 0 Sen. Tim Scott [R-SC]
#20 0 Sen. Todd Young [R-IN]
#20 0 Sen. Tom Cotton [R-AR]
#3 2 Sen. Cory Gardner [R-CO]
#3 2 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#3 2 Sen. Joni Ernst [R-IA]
#3 2 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#3 2 Sen. Ron Johnson [R-WI]
#3 2 Sen. Ted Cruz [R-TX]
#9 1 Sen. Dan Sullivan [R-AK]
#9 1 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#9 1 Sen. Jeff Flake [R-AZ]
#9 1 Sen. John Kennedy [R-LA]
#9 1 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#9 1 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#9 1 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#9 1 Sen. Mike Lee [R-UT]
#9 1 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT]
#9 1 Sen. Robert “Rob” Portman [R-OH]
#9 1 Sen. Shelley Capito [R-WV]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2017) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.