skip to main content

2017 Report Cards
Serving 10+ Years (Senate) / Cosponsors

These special year-end statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 2017 legislative year (Jan 3, 2017-Dec 31, 2017), looking at Members who served at the end of that period. This page was last updated on Jan 6, 2018.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon

Look at report cards for...



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in 2017.

Serving 10+ Years (Senate)
most cosponsors
#1 635 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#2 551 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#3 439 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#4 403 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT, 1977-2018]
#5 399 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#6 383 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#7 377 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#8 342 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#9 309 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#10 304 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#11 283 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#12 273 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#13 262 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#14 246 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#15 244 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#16 225 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#17 222 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#18 208 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#19 207 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#20 204 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA, 2005-2019]
#21 185 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#22 166 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#23 160 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#24 156 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#25 144 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#26 143 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#27 137 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#28 125 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#29 124 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#30 119 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#31 116 Sen. Bernard “Bernie” Sanders [I-VT]
#32 93 Sen. John McCain [R-AZ, 1987-2018]
#33 92 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#34 90 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#34 90 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#36 82 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN, 2007-2018]
#37 79 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#38 73 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#39 55 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#40 2 Sen. Thad Cochran [R-MS, 1979-2018]
#40 2 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of 2017) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.