skip to main content

2018 Report Cards
House Freshmen / Cosponsors

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 115th Congress (Jan 3, 2017-Jan 3, 2019), as of Jan 20, 2019.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in the 115th Congress.

House Freshmen
most cosponsors
#1 633 Rep. Stephanie Murphy [D-FL7]
#2 562 Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick [R-PA1]
#3 526 Rep. Ro Khanna [D-CA17]
#4 466 Rep. Pramila Jayapal [D-WA7]
#5 464 Rep. Anthony Brown [D-MD4]
#6 394 Rep. Adriano Espaillat [D-NY13]
#7 372 Sen. Jacky Rosen [D-NV]
#8 365 Rep. Andy Biggs [R-AZ5]
#9 358 Rep. Salud Carbajal [D-CA24]
#9 358 Rep. Donald McEachin [D-VA4]
#11 346 Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi [D-IL8]
#12 313 Rep. Mike Gallagher [R-WI8]
#13 303 Rep. Luis Correa [D-CA46]
#14 278 Rep. Jamie Raskin [D-MD8]
#15 260 Rep. Al Lawson [D-FL5]
#16 256 Rep. Thomas Garrett [R-VA5, 2017-2018]
#17 243 Rep. Scott Taylor [R-VA2, 2017-2018]
#18 233 Rep. Charlie Crist [D-FL13]
#19 214 Rep. Val Demings [D-FL10]
#20 207 Rep. Darren Soto [D-FL9]
#21 203 Rep. Matt Gaetz [R-FL1]
#22 194 Rep. John Faso [R-NY19, 2017-2018]
#23 193 Rep. Nanette Barragán [D-CA44]
#24 182 Rep. Tom O’Halleran [D-AZ1]
#25 168 Rep. Jim Banks [R-IN3]
#26 166 Rep. Don Bacon [R-NE2]
#27 163 Rep. Brian Mast [R-FL18]
#28 151 Rep. Josh Gottheimer [D-NJ5]
#29 148 Rep. Jimmy Gomez [D-CA34]
#30 144 Rep. Neal Dunn [R-FL2]
#30 144 Rep. Clay Higgins [R-LA3]
#32 142 Rep. Francis Rooney [R-FL19]
#32 142 Rep. John Rutherford [R-FL4]
#34 127 Rep. Lloyd Smucker [R-PA11]
#35 124 Commish. Jenniffer González-Colón [R-PR0]
#36 118 Rep. Ted Budd [R-NC13]
#37 115 Rep. Ralph Norman [R-SC5]
#38 109 Rep. Claudia Tenney [R-NY22, 2017-2018]
#39 106 Rep. Jack Bergman [R-MI1]
#40 103 Rep. Mike Johnson [R-LA4]
#41 100 Rep. Drew Ferguson [R-GA3]
#42 97 Rep. Roger Marshall [R-KS1]
#43 89 Rep. Jimmy Panetta [D-CA20]
#44 75 Rep. David Kustoff [R-TN8]
#45 71 Rep. James Comer [R-KY1]
#46 70 Rep. Thomas Suozzi [D-NY3]
#47 61 Rep. Jason Lewis [R-MN2, 2017-2018]
#48 52 Rep. Paul Mitchell [R-MI10]
#49 51 Rep. Debbie Lesko [R-AZ8]
#50 49 Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester [D-DE0]
#51 48 Rep. Trey Hollingsworth [R-IN9]
#52 45 Rep. John Curtis [R-UT3]
#53 43 Rep. Liz Cheney [R-WY0]
#54 40 Rep. Jodey Arrington [R-TX19]
#55 34 Rep. Conor Lamb [D-PA17]
#56 32 Rep. Vicente Gonzalez [D-TX15]
#57 30 Rep. Joseph Morelle [D-NY25]
#58 28 Rep. Ruben Kihuen [D-NV4, 2017-2018]
#59 18 Rep. Greg Gianforte [R-MT0]
#60 15 Rep. Ron Estes [R-KS4]
#61 8 Rep. Karen Handel [R-GA6, 2017-2018]
#62 2 Rep. Brenda Jones [D-MI13, 2018-2018]
#63 0 Rep. Troy Balderson [R-OH12]
#63 0 Rep. Michael Cloud [R-TX27]
#63 0 Rep. Kevin Hern [R-OK1]
#63 0 Rep. Mary Scanlon [D-PA5]
#63 0 Rep. Susan Wild [D-PA7]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 115th Congress) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.