skip to main content

2018 Report Cards
House Freshmen / Government Transparency

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 115th Congress (Jan 3, 2017-Jan 3, 2019), as of Jan 20, 2019.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Government Transparency

GovTrack looked at whether legislators supported any of the government transparency, accountability, and effectiveness bills that we identified in the 115th Congress. We gave a score to each legislator based on one point for cosponsoring and three points for sponsoring any of these bills.

House Freshmen
most often
#1 8 Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick [R-PA1]
#2 6 Rep. Don Bacon [R-NE2]
#2 6 Rep. Mike Gallagher [R-WI8]
#4 5 Rep. Ro Khanna [D-CA17]
#4 5 Rep. Tom O’Halleran [D-AZ1]
#4 5 Rep. Jamie Raskin [D-MD8]
#7 4 Rep. Andy Biggs [R-AZ5]
#7 4 Rep. Jimmy Panetta [D-CA20]
#7 4 Sen. Jacky Rosen [D-NV]
#7 4 Rep. Darren Soto [D-FL9]
#11 3 Rep. Jim Banks [R-IN3]
#11 3 Rep. Jack Bergman [R-MI1]
#11 3 Rep. Salud Carbajal [D-CA24]
#11 3 Rep. Matt Gaetz [R-FL1]
#11 3 Rep. Jimmy Gomez [D-CA34]
#11 3 Commish. Jenniffer González-Colón [R-PR0]
#11 3 Rep. Pramila Jayapal [D-WA7]
#11 3 Rep. Mike Johnson [R-LA4]
#11 3 Rep. Donald McEachin [D-VA4]
#20 2 Rep. Jodey Arrington [R-TX19]
#20 2 Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester [D-DE0]
#20 2 Rep. Charlie Crist [D-FL13]
#20 2 Rep. Adriano Espaillat [D-NY13]
#20 2 Rep. John Faso [R-NY19, 2017-2018]
#20 2 Rep. Greg Gianforte [R-MT0, 2017-2020]
#20 2 Rep. Karen Handel [R-GA6, 2017-2018]
#20 2 Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi [D-IL8]
#20 2 Rep. Ralph Norman [R-SC5]
#20 2 Rep. Francis Rooney [R-FL19, 2017-2020]
#20 2 Rep. Scott Taylor [R-VA2, 2017-2018]
#20 2 Rep. Claudia Tenney [R-NY22, 2017-2018]
#32 1 Rep. Nanette Barragán [D-CA44]
#32 1 Rep. Anthony Brown [D-MD4]
#32 1 Rep. Ted Budd [R-NC13]
#32 1 Rep. Michael Cloud [R-TX27]
#32 1 Rep. Luis Correa [D-CA46]
#32 1 Rep. Val Demings [D-FL10]
#32 1 Rep. Ron Estes [R-KS4]
#32 1 Rep. Drew Ferguson [R-GA3]
#32 1 Rep. Thomas Garrett [R-VA5, 2017-2018]
#32 1 Rep. Josh Gottheimer [D-NJ5]
#32 1 Rep. Al Lawson [D-FL5]
#32 1 Rep. Jason Lewis [R-MN2, 2017-2018]
#32 1 Rep. Paul Mitchell [I-MI10, 2017-2020]
#32 1 Rep. Stephanie Murphy [D-FL7]
#32 1 Rep. John Rutherford [R-FL4]
#32 1 Rep. Lloyd Smucker [R-PA11]
#32 1 Rep. Thomas Suozzi [D-NY3]
#49 0 Rep. Troy Balderson [R-OH12]
#49 0 Rep. Liz Cheney [R-WY0]
#49 0 Rep. James Comer [R-KY1]
#49 0 Rep. John Curtis [R-UT3]
#49 0 Rep. Neal Dunn [R-FL2]
#49 0 Rep. Vicente Gonzalez [D-TX15]
#49 0 Rep. Kevin Hern [R-OK1]
#49 0 Rep. Clay Higgins [R-LA3]
#49 0 Rep. Trey Hollingsworth [R-IN9]
#49 0 Rep. Brenda Jones [D-MI13, 2018-2018]
#49 0 Rep. Ruben Kihuen [D-NV4, 2017-2018]
#49 0 Rep. David Kustoff [R-TN8]
#49 0 Rep. Conor Lamb [D-PA17]
#49 0 Rep. Debbie Lesko [R-AZ8]
#49 0 Sen. Roger Marshall [R-KS]
#49 0 Rep. Brian Mast [R-FL18]
#49 0 Rep. Joseph Morelle [D-NY25]
#49 0 Rep. Mary Scanlon [D-PA5]
#49 0 Rep. Susan Wild [D-PA7]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 115th Congress) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.