skip to main content

2018 Report Cards
House Sophomores / Bills Cosponsored

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 115th Congress (Jan 3, 2017-Jan 3, 2019), as of Jan 20, 2019.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in the 115th Congress.

House Sophomores
most bills
#1 622 Rep. Dwight Evans [D-PA3]
#2 614 Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA11]
#3 599 Rep. Seth Moulton [D-MA6]
#4 590 Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA33]
#5 578 Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman [D-NJ12]
#6 530 Rep. Debbie Dingell [D-MI12]
#7 485 Rep. Ruben Gallego [D-AZ7]
#8 463 Rep. Brendan Boyle [D-PA2]
#9 448 Rep. Elise Stefanik [R-NY21]
#10 424 Rep. Kathleen Rice [D-NY4]
#11 423 Rep. Donald Beyer [D-VA8]
#12 410 Rep. Barbara Comstock [R-VA10, 2015-2018]
#13 393 Rep. Donald Norcross [D-NJ1]
#14 388 Rep. Daniel Donovan [R-NY11, 2015-2018]
#15 377 Rep. Carlos Curbelo [R-FL26, 2015-2018]
#16 365 Rep. Bradley “Brad” Schneider [D-IL10]
#17 364 Rep. Brenda Lawrence [D-MI14]
#18 357 Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA35]
#19 336 Rep. Ryan Costello [R-PA6, 2015-2018]
#20 331 Rep. Alma Adams [D-NC12]
#21 330 Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA31]
#22 324 Rep. Mike Bishop [R-MI8, 2015-2018]
#23 323 Rep. John Katko [R-NY24]
#24 321 Rep. Glenn Grothman [R-WI6]
#25 304 Rep. Brian Babin [R-TX36]
#26 300 Rep. Tom MacArthur [R-NJ3, 2015-2018]
#27 290 Rep. David Young [R-IA3, 2015-2018]
#28 286 Rep. Lee Zeldin [R-NY1]
#29 283 Rep. Jody Hice [R-GA10]
#30 281 Rep. Alex Mooney [R-WV2]
#31 276 Rep. Bruce Poliquin [R-ME2, 2015-2018]
#32 265 Rep. David Rouzer [R-NC7]
#33 255 Rep. Ralph Abraham [R-LA5]
#34 244 Rep. Steve Knight [R-CA25, 2015-2018]
#35 236 Rep. Mike Bost [R-IL12]
#35 236 Rep. David “Dave” Brat [R-VA7, 2014-2018]
#37 233 Rep. Buddy Carter [R-GA1]
#38 230 Rep. Rick Allen [R-GA12]
#39 214 Rep. Tom Emmer [R-MN6]
#40 213 Rep. Dan Newhouse [R-WA4]
#41 212 Rep. Mia Love [R-UT4, 2015-2018]
#42 205 Rep. John Ratcliffe [R-TX4, 2015-2020]
#43 202 Rep. Bruce Westerman [R-AR4]
#44 193 Rep. Barry Loudermilk [R-GA11]
#45 192 Rep. John Moolenaar [R-MI4]
#46 189 Rep. Aumua Amata [R-AS0]
#47 172 Rep. French Hill [R-AR2]
#48 170 Rep. Darin LaHood [R-IL18]
#49 168 Rep. Stacey Plaskett [D-VI0]
#50 166 Rep. Will Hurd [R-TX23]
#51 165 Sen. Martha McSally [R-AZ]
#52 163 Rep. Trent Kelly [R-MS1]
#53 162 Rep. Mark Walker [R-NC6]
#54 157 Rep. Rod Blum [R-IA1, 2015-2018]
#55 154 Rep. Steve Russell [R-OK5, 2015-2018]
#56 152 Rep. Dave Trott [R-MI11, 2015-2018]
#56 152 Rep. Mimi Walters [R-CA45, 2015-2018]
#58 144 Rep. Ken Buck [R-CO4]
#59 119 Rep. Warren Davidson [R-OH8]
#60 97 Rep. Garret Graves [R-LA6]
#61 92 Rep. Gary Palmer [R-AL6]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 115th Congress) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.