skip to main content

2018 Report Cards
California Delegation / Ideology Score

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 115th Congress (Jan 3, 2017-Jan 3, 2019), as of Jan 20, 2019.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Ideology Score

Our unique ideology analysis assigns a score to Members of Congress according to their legislative behavior by whether they sponsor and cosponsor overlapping sets of bills and resolutions with other Members of Congress. The score can be interpreted as a left—right scale measuring the dominant ideological difference or differences among Members of Congress, although of course it only takes into account a small aspect of reality.

California Delegation
most politically right
#1 0.95 Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA1]
#2 0.79 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21, 2013-2018]
#3 0.79 Rep. Tom McClintock [R-CA4]
#4 0.78 Rep. Duncan Hunter [R-CA50, 2013-2020]
#5 0.77 Rep. Paul Cook [R-CA8]
#6 0.75 Rep. Ken Calvert [R-CA42]
#7 0.71 Rep. Steve Knight [R-CA25, 2015-2018]
#8 0.67 Rep. Mimi Walters [R-CA45, 2015-2018]
#9 0.66 Rep. Jeff Denham [R-CA10, 2013-2018]
#10 0.66 Rep. Darrell Issa [R-CA49, 2003-2018]
#11 0.65 Rep. Dana Rohrabacher [R-CA48, 2013-2018]
#12 0.65 Rep. Devin Nunes [R-CA22]
#13 0.64 Rep. Edward “Ed” Royce [R-CA39, 2013-2018]
#14 0.52 Rep. Jim Costa [D-CA16]
#15 0.50 Rep. Kevin McCarthy [R-CA23]
#16 0.44 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#17 0.44 Rep. Brad Sherman [D-CA30]
#18 0.41 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#19 0.41 Rep. Mike Thompson [D-CA5]
#20 0.40 Rep. Luis Correa [D-CA46]
#21 0.38 Rep. Nancy Pelosi [D-CA12]
#22 0.37 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#23 0.34 Rep. Tony Cárdenas [D-CA29]
#24 0.33 Rep. Jimmy Panetta [D-CA20]
#25 0.33 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#26 0.32 Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA15]
#27 0.32 Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA31]
#28 0.31 Rep. Doris Matsui [D-CA6]
#29 0.31 Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA28]
#30 0.30 Rep. Susan Davis [D-CA53]
#31 0.30 Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA35]
#32 0.30 Rep. Linda Sánchez [D-CA38]
#33 0.29 Rep. Anna Eshoo [D-CA18]
#34 0.29 Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA3]
#35 0.28 Rep. Salud Carbajal [D-CA24]
#36 0.28 Rep. Jimmy Gomez [D-CA34]
#37 0.28 Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA51]
#38 0.25 Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA33]
#39 0.24 Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D-CA19]
#40 0.24 Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA14]
#41 0.22 Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA40]
#42 0.22 Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA32]
#43 0.22 Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA37]
#44 0.22 Rep. Jerry McNerney [D-CA9]
#45 0.22 Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA43]
#46 0.21 Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA47]
#47 0.20 Rep. Judy Chu [D-CA27]
#48 0.19 Rep. Ro Khanna [D-CA17]
#49 0.18 Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA2]
#50 0.18 Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA41]
#51 0.16 Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA11]
#52 0.16 Rep. Nanette Barragán [D-CA44]
#53 0.01 Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA13]
Export to CSV...

For more, see our methodology. Although we do not report a margin of error, the scores fluctuate significantly over time because of the limited data used in the analysis. An ideology score is not computed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills or who have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable statistics. Note that because on this page only legislative activity in the 115th Congress is considered, the ideology score here may differ from those elsewhere on GovTrack.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 115th Congress) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.