skip to main content

2018 Report Cards
California Delegation / Leadership Score

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 115th Congress (Jan 3, 2017-Jan 3, 2019), as of Jan 20, 2019.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Leadership Score

Our unique leadership analysis looks at who is cosponsoring whose bills. A higher score shows a greater ability to get cosponsors on bills.

California Delegation
top leader
#1 1.00 Rep. Edward “Ed” Royce [R-CA39, 2013-2018]
#2 0.81 Rep. Kevin McCarthy [R-CA23]
#3 0.79 Rep. Jeff Denham [R-CA10, 2013-2018]
#4 0.75 Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21]
#5 0.73 Rep. Mike Thompson [D-CA5]
#6 0.73 Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA37]
#7 0.73 Rep. Darrell Issa [R-CA50]
#8 0.68 Rep. Tom McClintock [R-CA4]
#9 0.68 Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA33]
#10 0.68 Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA13]
#11 0.67 Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA14]
#12 0.67 Rep. Susan Davis [D-CA53, 2003-2020]
#13 0.66 Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA2]
#14 0.65 Rep. Duncan Hunter [R-CA50, 2013-2020]
#15 0.64 Rep. Tony Cárdenas [D-CA29]
#16 0.64 Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA43]
#17 0.63 Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA3]
#18 0.63 Rep. Linda Sánchez [D-CA38]
#19 0.62 Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA1]
#20 0.62 Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D-CA19]
#21 0.62 Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA47]
#22 0.61 Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA40]
#23 0.57 Rep. Steve Knight [R-CA25, 2015-2018]
#24 0.57 Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA15]
#25 0.56 Rep. Ro Khanna [D-CA17]
#26 0.56 Rep. Judy Chu [D-CA27]
#27 0.54 Rep. Salud Carbajal [D-CA24]
#28 0.53 Rep. Anna Eshoo [D-CA18]
#29 0.51 Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA28]
#30 0.49 Rep. Paul Cook [R-CA8, 2013-2020]
#31 0.49 Rep. Luis Correa [D-CA46]
#32 0.48 Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#33 0.47 Rep. Ken Calvert [R-CA42]
#34 0.47 Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA11]
#35 0.46 Rep. Devin Nunes [R-CA22]
#36 0.42 Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA41]
#37 0.42 Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA35]
#38 0.41 Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA31]
#39 0.40 Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#40 0.40 Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#41 0.39 Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA32]
#42 0.39 Rep. Doris Matsui [D-CA6]
#43 0.38 Rep. Dana Rohrabacher [R-CA48, 2013-2018]
#44 0.37 Rep. Nanette Barragán [D-CA44]
#45 0.35 Rep. Jimmy Gomez [D-CA34]
#46 0.32 Rep. Brad Sherman [D-CA30]
#47 0.32 Rep. Mimi Walters [R-CA45, 2015-2018]
#48 0.31 Rep. Jimmy Panetta [D-CA20]
#49 0.25 Rep. Jerry McNerney [D-CA9]
#50 0.14 Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA51]
#51 0.11 Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
#52 0.09 Rep. Jim Costa [D-CA16]
#53 0.00 Rep. Nancy Pelosi [D-CA12]
Export to CSV...

For more, see our methodology. A leadership score is not computed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable statistics. Note that because on this page only legislative activity in the 115th Congress is considered, the leadership scores here may differ from those elsewhere on GovTrack.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 115th Congress) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.