skip to main content

2018 Report Cards
California Delegation / Missed Votes

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 115th Congress (Jan 3, 2017-Jan 3, 2019), as of Jan 20, 2019.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Missed Votes

The percentage of votes each legislator missed in the 115th Congress.

California Delegation
most absent
#1 17.8% Rep. Grace Napolitano [D-CA32]
#2 14.8% Rep. Jim Costa [D-CA16]
#3 14.7% Rep. Jackie Speier [D-CA14]
#4 10.6% Rep. Nancy Pelosi [D-CA12]
#5 9.3% Rep. Dana Rohrabacher [R-CA48, 2013-2018]
#6 8.8% Rep. Ted Lieu [D-CA33]
#7 8.6% Rep. Karen Bass [D-CA37]
#8 8.4% Rep. Darrell Issa [R-CA49, 2003-2018]
#9 7.9% Rep. Alan Lowenthal [D-CA47]
#10 6.9% Rep. Mimi Walters [R-CA45, 2015-2018]
#11 6.7% Rep. Tony Cárdenas [D-CA29]
#12 6.6% Rep. Jeff Denham [R-CA10, 2013-2018]
#13 6.4% Rep. Eric Swalwell [D-CA15]
#14 6.0% Rep. Anna Eshoo [D-CA18]
#15 5.5% Rep. Jared Huffman [D-CA2]
#16 4.5% Rep. Maxine Waters [D-CA43]
#17 4.2% Rep. John Garamendi [D-CA3]
#18 4.1% Rep. Jerry McNerney [D-CA9]
#19 3.6% Rep. Juan Vargas [D-CA51]
#20 3.1% Rep. Duncan Hunter [R-CA50, 2013-2020]
#20 3.1% Rep. Zoe Lofgren [D-CA19]
#22 3.0% Rep. Jimmy Gomez [D-CA34]
#23 2.6% Rep. Susan Davis [D-CA53]
#23 2.6% Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA40]
#25 2.6% Rep. Nanette Barragán [D-CA44]
#25 2.6% Rep. Linda Sánchez [D-CA38]
#27 2.4% Rep. Julia Brownley [D-CA26]
#27 2.4% Rep. Salud Carbajal [D-CA24]
#27 2.4% Rep. Steve Knight [R-CA25, 2015-2018]
#27 2.4% Rep. Doug LaMalfa [R-CA1]
#31 2.2% Rep. Judy Chu [D-CA27]
#31 2.2% Rep. Devin Nunes [R-CA22]
#33 2.1% Rep. Mike Thompson [D-CA5]
#33 2.1% Rep. Norma Torres [D-CA35]
#35 2.0% Rep. David Valadao [R-CA21, 2013-2018]
#36 1.9% Rep. Barbara Lee [D-CA13]
#36 1.9% Rep. Mark Takano [D-CA41]
#38 1.8% Rep. Edward “Ed” Royce [R-CA39, 2013-2018]
#39 1.7% Rep. Scott Peters [D-CA52]
#40 1.5% Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D-CA11]
#40 1.5% Rep. Kevin McCarthy [R-CA23]
#42 1.3% Rep. Doris Matsui [D-CA6]
#42 1.3% Rep. Brad Sherman [D-CA30]
#44 1.2% Rep. Pete Aguilar [D-CA31]
#45 1.0% Rep. Ken Calvert [R-CA42]
#46 0.8% Rep. Ro Khanna [D-CA17]
#46 0.8% Rep. Tom McClintock [R-CA4]
#48 0.5% Rep. Luis Correa [D-CA46]
#48 0.5% Rep. Adam Schiff [D-CA28]
#50 0.4% Rep. Raul Ruiz [D-CA36]
#51 0.2% Rep. Jimmy Panetta [D-CA20]
#52 0.2% Rep. Paul Cook [R-CA8]
#53 0.1% Rep. Ami Bera [D-CA7]
Export to CSV...

The Speaker of the House is not included in this statistic because according to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings, and the delegates from the five island territories and the District of Columbia are also not included because they were not elligible to vote in any roll call votes.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 115th Congress) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.