skip to main content

2018 Report Cards
Texas Delegation / Cosponsors

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 115th Congress (Jan 3, 2017-Jan 3, 2019), as of Jan 20, 2019.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in the 115th Congress.

Texas Delegation
most cosponsors
#1 944 Rep. Michael McCaul [R-TX10]
#2 905 Rep. Lloyd Doggett [D-TX35]
#3 814 Rep. Sheila Jackson Lee [D-TX18]
#4 767 Rep. Al Green [D-TX9]
#5 712 Rep. Sam Johnson [R-TX3, 1991-2018]
#6 650 Rep. Michael Conaway [R-TX11]
#7 593 Rep. Ted Poe [R-TX2, 2005-2018]
#8 488 Rep. Lamar Smith [R-TX21, 1987-2018]
#9 363 Rep. Brian Babin [R-TX36]
#10 360 Rep. Eddie Johnson [D-TX30]
#11 291 Rep. Roger Williams [R-TX25]
#12 287 Rep. Joe Barton [R-TX6, 1985-2018]
#13 284 Rep. Marc Veasey [D-TX33]
#14 225 Rep. Henry Cuellar [D-TX28]
#15 197 Rep. Bill Flores [R-TX17]
#16 195 Rep. Will Hurd [R-TX23]
#17 193 Rep. John Ratcliffe [R-TX4]
#18 192 Rep. Beto O’Rourke [D-TX16, 2013-2018]
#19 188 Rep. Pete Olson [R-TX22]
#20 187 Rep. Pete Sessions [R-TX32, 2003-2018]
#21 177 Rep. Michael Burgess [R-TX26]
#22 164 Rep. Gene Green [D-TX29, 1993-2018]
#23 161 Rep. Louie Gohmert [R-TX1]
#24 157 Rep. Joaquin Castro [D-TX20]
#25 153 Rep. Kevin Brady [R-TX8]
#26 136 Rep. John Carter [R-TX31]
#27 110 Rep. Mac Thornberry [R-TX13]
#28 87 Rep. Kenny Marchant [R-TX24]
#29 74 Rep. Randy Weber [R-TX14]
#30 41 Rep. Jeb Hensarling [R-TX5, 2003-2018]
#31 40 Rep. Jodey Arrington [R-TX19]
#32 37 Rep. Filemon Vela [D-TX34]
#33 32 Rep. Vicente Gonzalez [D-TX15]
#34 28 Rep. Kay Granger [R-TX12]
#35 16 Rep. John Culberson [R-TX7, 2001-2018]
#36 0 Rep. Michael Cloud [R-TX27]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 115th Congress) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.