skip to main content

2018 Report Cards
Senate Democrats / Laws Enacted

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 115th Congress (Jan 3, 2017-Jan 3, 2019), as of Jan 20, 2019.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Laws Enacted

The number of bills each legislator introduced that became law in the 115th Congress, including via incorporation into other bills. Keep in mind that it takes a law to repeal a law. Very few bills ever become law.

Senate Democrats
most laws
#1 10 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#2 8 Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand [D-NY]
#3 7 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#4 6 Sen. Timothy “Tim” Kaine [D-VA]
#5 5 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#5 5 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#5 5 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#5 5 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#5 5 Sen. Mark Warner [D-VA]
#5 5 Sen. Elizabeth Warren [D-MA]
#11 4 Sen. Tammy Baldwin [D-WI]
#11 4 Sen. Heidi Heitkamp [D-ND, 2013-2018]
#11 4 Sen. Mazie Hirono [D-HI]
#11 4 Sen. Joe Manchin [D-WV]
#11 4 Sen. Gary Peters [D-MI]
#11 4 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#17 3 Sen. Michael Bennet [D-CO]
#17 3 Sen. Richard Blumenthal [D-CT]
#17 3 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#17 3 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#17 3 Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto [D-NV]
#17 3 Sen. Joe Donnelly [D-IN, 2013-2018]
#17 3 Sen. Tammy Duckworth [D-IL]
#17 3 Vice President Kamala Harris [D]
#17 3 Sen. Margaret “Maggie” Hassan [D-NH]
#17 3 Sen. Jeanne Shaheen [D-NH]
#17 3 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#28 2 Sen. Cory Booker [D-NJ]
#28 2 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#28 2 Sen. Doug Jones [D-AL, 2018-2020]
#28 2 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#28 2 Sen. Jeff Merkley [D-OR]
#28 2 Sen. Christopher Murphy [D-CT]
#28 2 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#35 1 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#35 1 Sen. Christopher Coons [D-DE]
#35 1 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#35 1 Sen. Edward “Ed” Markey [D-MA]
#35 1 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#35 1 Sen. Brian Schatz [D-HI]
#35 1 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#35 1 Sen. Tina Smith [D-MN]
#35 1 Sen. Chris Van Hollen [D-MD]
#44 0 Sen. Martin Heinrich [D-NM]
#44 0 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#44 0 Sen. Tom Udall [D-NM, 2009-2020]
#44 0 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
Export to CSV...

The legislator must be the primary sponsor of the bill or joint resolution that was enacted or the primary sponsor of a bill or joint resolution for which at least about one third of its text was incorporated into another bill or joint resolution that was enacted as law, as determined by an automated analysis. While a legislator may lay claim to authoring other bills that became law, these cases are difficult for us to track quantitatively. We also exclude bills where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 115th Congress) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.