skip to main content

2018 Report Cards
Senate Democrats / Bills Out of Committee

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 115th Congress (Jan 3, 2017-Jan 3, 2019), as of Jan 20, 2019.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Out of Committee

The number of bills that each legislator introduced in the 115th Congress that got past committee and to the floor for consideration. Most bills and resolutions languish in committee without any action.

Senate Democrats
most often
#1 30 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#2 26 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#3 22 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#3 22 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#5 19 Sen. Christopher Coons [D-DE]
#5 19 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#7 16 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#7 16 Sen. Heidi Heitkamp [D-ND, 2013-2018]
#7 16 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#10 15 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#11 14 Sen. Jeanne Shaheen [D-NH]
#12 13 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#12 13 Sen. Elizabeth Warren [D-MA]
#14 12 Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand [D-NY]
#14 12 Sen. Mazie Hirono [D-HI]
#14 12 Sen. Gary Peters [D-MI]
#17 11 Sen. Timothy “Tim” Kaine [D-VA]
#17 11 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#19 10 Sen. Tammy Duckworth [D-IL]
#19 10 Sen. Joe Manchin [D-WV]
#19 10 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#22 9 Sen. Richard Blumenthal [D-CT]
#22 9 Sen. Joe Donnelly [D-IN, 2013-2018]
#24 8 Sen. Tammy Baldwin [D-WI]
#24 8 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#24 8 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#24 8 Vice President Kamala Harris [D]
#24 8 Sen. Jeff Merkley [D-OR]
#24 8 Sen. Mark Warner [D-VA]
#30 7 Sen. Margaret “Maggie” Hassan [D-NH]
#30 7 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#30 7 Sen. Brian Schatz [D-HI]
#30 7 Sen. Tom Udall [D-NM, 2009-2020]
#34 6 Sen. Cory Booker [D-NJ]
#34 6 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#34 6 Sen. Martin Heinrich [D-NM]
#34 6 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#34 6 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#39 5 Sen. Michael Bennet [D-CO]
#39 5 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#41 4 Sen. Edward “Ed” Markey [D-MA]
#41 4 Sen. Christopher Murphy [D-CT]
#41 4 Sen. Chris Van Hollen [D-MD]
#44 3 Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto [D-NV]
#44 3 Sen. Doug Jones [D-AL, 2018-2020]
#46 2 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#46 2 Sen. Tina Smith [D-MN]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 115th Congress) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.