skip to main content

2018 Report Cards
Senate Republicans / Bills Cosponsored

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 115th Congress (Jan 3, 2017-Jan 3, 2019), as of Jan 20, 2019.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


Bills Cosponsored

The number of bills cosponsored by each legislator in the 115th Congress.

Senate Republicans
most bills
#1 424 Sen. Marco Rubio [R-FL]
#2 355 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#3 316 Sen. Shelley Capito [R-WV]
#4 280 Sen. John Boozman [R-AR]
#5 272 Sen. Cory Gardner [R-CO]
#6 269 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#7 266 Sen. Roy Blunt [R-MO]
#8 265 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#9 264 Sen. Thom Tillis [R-NC]
#10 257 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#11 251 Sen. Dean Heller [R-NV, 2011-2018]
#12 249 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT, 1977-2018]
#13 247 Sen. Mike Rounds [R-SD]
#14 244 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#15 241 Sen. Steve Daines [R-MT]
#16 235 Sen. David Perdue [R-GA]
#17 230 Sen. Tom Cotton [R-AR]
#18 227 Sen. Robert “Rob” Portman [R-OH]
#19 225 Sen. Ted Cruz [R-TX]
#19 225 Sen. Joni Ernst [R-IA]
#21 224 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA, 2005-2019]
#22 219 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#22 219 Sen. Jerry Moran [R-KS]
#24 218 Sen. Todd Young [R-IN]
#25 210 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#26 209 Sen. John Kennedy [R-LA]
#27 208 Sen. Bill Cassidy [R-LA]
#28 204 Sen. James Risch [R-ID]
#28 204 Sen. Dan Sullivan [R-AK]
#30 196 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#31 185 Sen. James Lankford [R-OK]
#32 182 Sen. Tim Scott [R-SC]
#33 177 Sen. John Hoeven [R-ND]
#34 169 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#35 167 Sen. Deb Fischer [R-NE]
#36 161 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#37 159 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#38 153 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#39 150 Sen. Ron Johnson [R-WI]
#40 143 Sen. Mike Lee [R-UT]
#41 132 Sen. Patrick “Pat” Toomey [R-PA]
#42 127 Sen. Jeff Flake [R-AZ, 2013-2018]
#43 124 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#44 123 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#45 118 Sen. Rand Paul [R-KY]
#46 86 Sen. Benjamin Sasse [R-NE]
#47 72 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN, 2007-2018]
#47 72 Sen. Cindy Hyde-Smith [R-MS]
#49 71 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#50 51 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 115th Congress) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.