skip to main content

2018 Report Cards
Senate Republicans / Cosponsors

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 115th Congress (Jan 3, 2017-Jan 3, 2019), as of Jan 20, 2019.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon


The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in the 115th Congress.

Senate Republicans
most cosponsors
#1 883 Sen. Grassley [R-IA]
#2 865 Sen. Cornyn [R-TX]
#3 784 Sen. Hatch [R-UT]
#4 681 Sen. Rubio [R-FL]
#5 568 Sen. Collins [R-ME]
#6 438 Sen. Heller [R-NV]
#7 401 Sen. Portman [R-OH]
#8 386 Sen. Isakson [R-GA]
#9 364 Sen. Wicker [R-MS]
#10 355 Sen. Blunt [R-MO]
#11 323 Sen. McConnell [R-KY]
#12 312 Sen. Crapo [R-ID]
#13 310 Sen. Flake [R-AZ]
#14 291 Sen. Cruz [R-TX]
#15 285 Sen. Toomey [R-PA]
#16 281 Sen. Johnson [R-WI]
#17 275 Sen. Cassidy [R-LA]
#17 275 Sen. Thune [R-SD]
#19 265 Sen. Graham [R-SC]
#20 257 Sen. Daines [R-MT]
#21 250 Sen. Lee [R-UT]
#22 242 Sen. Corker [R-TN]
#23 239 Sen. Barrasso [R-WY]
#24 229 Sen. Roberts [R-KS]
#25 219 Sen. Risch [R-ID]
#26 215 Sen. Murkowski [R-AK]
#27 205 Sen. Alexander [R-TN]
#27 205 Sen. Young [R-IN]
#29 202 Sen. Ernst [R-IA]
#30 180 Sen. Burr [R-NC]
#31 168 Sen. Hoeven [R-ND]
#32 165 Sen. Inhofe [R-OK]
#33 161 Sen. Moran [R-KS]
#34 159 Sen. Scott [R-SC]
#35 157 Sen. Boozman [R-AR]
#35 157 Sen. Sullivan [R-AK]
#37 156 Sen. Paul [R-KY]
#38 153 Sen. Gardner [R-CO]
#39 147 Sen. Fischer [R-NE]
#40 142 Sen. Lankford [R-OK]
#41 129 Sen. Enzi [R-WY]
#42 114 Sen. Capito [R-WV]
#43 105 Sen. Cotton [R-AR]
#44 103 Sen. Tillis [R-NC]
#45 98 Sen. Kennedy [R-LA]
#46 96 Sen. Perdue [R-GA]
#47 90 Sen. Sasse [R-NE]
#48 81 Sen. Rounds [R-SD]
#49 8 Sen. Hyde-Smith [R-MS]
#50 3 Sen. Shelby [R-AL]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 115th Congress) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.