skip to main content

2018 Report Cards
Serving 10+ Years (Senate) / Working with the Other Chamber

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 115th Congress (Jan 3, 2017-Jan 3, 2019), as of Jan 20, 2019.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon

Look at report cards for...


Working with the Other Chamber

The House and Senate often work on the same issue simultaneously by introducing companion bills in each chamber. This is the number of bills introduced by each legislator in the 115th Congress that had a companion bill in the other chamber. Working with a sponsor in the other chamber makes a bill more likely to be passed by both the House and Senate.

Serving 10+ Years (Senate)
most bills
#1 30 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT, 1977-2018]
#2 29 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#3 28 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#4 26 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#4 26 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#6 22 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#6 22 Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand [D-NY]
#8 20 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#9 19 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#9 19 Sen. Jeanne Shaheen [D-NH]
#9 19 Sen. Tom Udall [D-NM, 2009-2020]
#12 18 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#12 18 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#12 18 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#15 16 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#15 16 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#17 15 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#17 15 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#19 14 Sen. Bernard “Bernie” Sanders [I-VT]
#20 13 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#20 13 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#22 12 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#23 11 Sen. Michael Bennet [D-CO]
#23 11 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#23 11 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#23 11 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#27 10 Sen. Jeff Merkley [D-OR]
#27 10 Sen. Mark Warner [D-VA]
#29 9 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#30 8 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#30 8 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA, 2005-2019]
#30 8 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#30 8 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#34 7 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN, 2003-2020]
#34 7 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY, 1997-2020]
#34 7 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#34 7 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#38 5 Sen. Michael “Mike” Crapo [R-ID]
#38 5 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#38 5 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS, 1997-2020]
#41 4 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#41 4 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#43 3 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN, 2007-2018]
#43 3 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#45 0 Sen. James Risch [R-ID]
#45 0 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
Export to CSV...

Companion bills are those that are identified as “identical” by Congress’s Congressional Research Service.

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 115th Congress) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.