skip to main content

2018 Report Cards
Serving 10+ Years (Senate) / Cosponsors

These statistics dissect the legislative records of Members of Congress during the 115th Congress (Jan 3, 2017-Jan 3, 2019), as of Jan 20, 2019.

A higher or lower number below doesn’t necessarily make a legislator any better or worse, or more or less effective, than other Members of Congress. We present these statistics for you to understand the quantitative aspects of legislating and make your own judgements based on what legislative activities you think are important.

Keep in mind that there are many important aspects of being a legislator besides what can be measured, such as constituent services and performing oversight of the executive branch, which aren’t reflected here.

Page Icon

Look at report cards for...



The total number of cosponsors joining the bills written by each legislator in the 115th Congress.

Serving 10+ Years (Senate)
most cosponsors
#1 905 Sen. Benjamin Cardin [D-MD]
#2 883 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Grassley [R-IA]
#3 865 Sen. John Cornyn [R-TX]
#4 784 Sen. Orrin Hatch [R-UT, 1977-2018]
#5 642 Sen. Patty Murray [D-WA]
#6 638 Sen. Robert “Bob” Menendez [D-NJ]
#7 596 Sen. Dianne Feinstein [D-CA]
#8 584 Sen. Sherrod Brown [D-OH]
#9 568 Sen. Susan Collins [R-ME]
#10 505 Sen. Jon Tester [D-MT]
#11 503 Sen. Amy Klobuchar [D-MN]
#12 500 Sen. Ron Wyden [D-OR]
#13 442 Sen. Robert “Bob” Casey [D-PA]
#14 423 Sen. Richard Durbin [D-IL]
#15 407 Sen. Jeff Merkley [D-OR]
#16 396 Sen. Jeanne Shaheen [D-NH]
#17 386 Sen. John “Johnny” Isakson [R-GA, 2005-2019]
#18 384 Sen. Bill Nelson [D-FL, 2001-2018]
#19 364 Sen. Roger Wicker [R-MS]
#20 349 Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand [D-NY]
#21 336 Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse [D-RI]
#22 323 Sen. Mitch McConnell [R-KY]
#23 312 Sen. Michael Crapo [R-ID]
#24 296 Sen. Mark Warner [D-VA]
#25 294 Sen. Tom Udall [D-NM]
#26 275 Sen. Maria Cantwell [D-WA]
#26 275 Sen. John Thune [R-SD]
#28 265 Sen. Lindsey Graham [R-SC]
#29 264 Sen. John “Jack” Reed [D-RI]
#30 242 Sen. Bob Corker [R-TN, 2007-2018]
#31 239 Sen. John Barrasso [R-WY]
#32 229 Sen. Pat Roberts [R-KS]
#33 224 Sen. Debbie Stabenow [D-MI]
#34 219 Sen. James Risch [R-ID]
#35 215 Sen. Lisa Murkowski [R-AK]
#36 205 Sen. Lamar Alexander [R-TN]
#37 180 Sen. Richard Burr [R-NC]
#37 180 Sen. Thomas Carper [D-DE]
#39 178 Sen. Claire McCaskill [D-MO, 2007-2018]
#40 176 Sen. Patrick Leahy [D-VT]
#41 174 Sen. Bernard “Bernie” Sanders [I-VT]
#42 165 Sen. James “Jim” Inhofe [R-OK]
#43 149 Sen. Michael Bennet [D-CO]
#44 147 Sen. Charles “Chuck” Schumer [D-NY]
#45 129 Sen. Michael Enzi [R-WY]
#46 3 Sen. Richard Shelby [R-AL]
Export to CSV...

Additional Notes

The Speaker’s Votes: Missed votes are not computed for the Speaker of the House. According to current House rules, the Speaker of the House is not required to vote in “ordinary legislative proceedings.” In practice this means the Speaker of the House rarely votes but is not considered absent.

Leadership/Ideology: The leadership and ideology scores are not displayed for Members of Congress who introduced fewer than 10 bills, or, for ideology, for Members of Congress that have a low leadership score, as there is usually not enough data in these cases to compute reliable leadership and ideology statistics.

Missing Bills: We exclude bills from some statistics where the sponsor’s original intent is not in the final bill because the bill’s text was replaced in whole with unrelated provisions (i.e. it became a vehicle for passage of unrelated provisions).

Ranking Members (RkMembs): The chair of a committee is always selected from the political party that holds the most seats in the chamber, called the “majority party”. The “ranking member” (sometimes “RkMembs”) is the title given to the senior-most member of the committee not in the majority party.

Freshmen/Sophomores: Freshmen and sophomores are Members of Congress whose first term (in the same chamber at the end of the 115th Congress) was the 115th Congress (freshmen) or 114th (sophomores). Members of Congress who took office within the last few months of a Congress are considered freshmen in the next Congress as well.